Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! I did cut back on the amount of rum and egg yolks. Instead of 12 I did 8 egg yolks and I used 2 cups of rum. That was enough for my taste. But I absolutely loved it. Everybody that drank it loved it!! I didn't give it 5 stars because I did cut back on the ingredient amount listed. But overall a wonderful recipe with my changes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Tried it last Christmas party and it was asked back again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I followed this recipe almost exactly. The major change I made was the alcohol. I used brandy, instead of rum, since it has a sweet, smooth, warm flavor. I also cut the amount down by 1 cup - and I'm glad I did, or even the brandy would have been overwhelming! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Wow! This is a really great recipe! I didn't want the eggs to curdle and get lumpy so I added the milk mixture into the eggs, one ladle-full at a time until about 2/3 of the milk was whisked into the eggs. Then I added the tempered egg mixture into the pan and cooked for 3 minutes. No lumps and the texture is fantastic. I didn't add alcohol because my 1 1/2 year old granddaughter LOVES eggnog (if I want some liquor in mine, I can add it later). I'll be making this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
The best eggnog I've ever had! I followed the recipe except the rum but other then that it was eye brow raising good. I especially like the combination of spices. My family likes their eggnog really fluffy and this pleased all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Used only 1 Cup sugar, and half the light cream (added extra milk to make up the volume) and it was still nice and thick, creamy and delicious. Wonderful recipe. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Somebody brought this to a potluck and it was incredible, so I decided to make it myself. I used Malibu rum and heavy cream instead of light cream. It was a huge, huge hit and I'm so excited about making it for New Years Eve that I might just make a double batch. It's a lot of work but so totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
We used 2% for the milk and half & half for the light cream. We left out the rum and just had folks add brandy when they poured a glass. The brandy added just the right kick to it. This one's going to be an annual favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fife, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I made it a second time and swapped the light rum with 2 cups of darker spiced rum and it was also very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This recipe was a little thinner than I typically like, but the flavor was perfect. (I used 2 tsp rum extract instead of rum. We don't really drink much)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States