Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Thank you for this recipe! I will never buy eggnog again! I don't like rum, so I omitted it completely. My husband likes it less sweet, so we cut the sugar in half. Super easy to make-LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Best nog Ive ever had , but I made a few mods, though Excluded the cloves Went with half the Liquor that was called for , except in stead of just rum I went with Rum and Bourbon This unseated the eggnog I used to make with Vanilla Ice cream, (Aka Noggen Dasz) as everyones favorite nog
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Very good eggnog! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I have made this recipe several times now, and it has definitely been a hit! The only thing I do differently is omit the rum. Next time I may cut back on the vanilla extract a bit as well, as the vanilla flavor is a bit heavy (but still so yummy). I'm so happy to have found this recipe. Another reason I'm fond of it is that it is a cooked recipe, as raw eggs are something I'm not comfortable consuming. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Made 2 servings. Used half and half in place of the cream and rum. You could reduce the sugar by 1/4. Hubby says its the best eggnog he ever tasted. I made it easily within 15 min. by placing the saucepan of thickened ingredients in a large bowl of ice water and then whisking it until it cooled down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I read the reviews and lessened the sugar as well as whipped the egg yolks until they were lighter in color. I also tempered the eggs and sugar instead of adding all at once and had no lumps at all. My daughter and I loved this. It was so easy and so much better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuttle, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This recipe is absolutely awesome. I didn't add rum or spices and it is better than my favourite store bought eggnog. I did have to strain it through a fine sieve as there were a few tiny lumps in it. I think that may have been caused by my heating element which may have been slightly hotter than what recipe called for. WHEN COOLING, KEEP LID OFF POT OR IT WILL COOK FURTHER AND CAUSE LUMPS. I had to throw out small test batch that I made because I tried to cool it with lid on. I think you have to keep whisking it periodically when cooling too. Maybe a couple of strainings through extra fine sieve would have worked even better. It's worth the time and effort. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
this is the best eggnog ever. Some of my family claimed to not like eggnog, but I made them take a sip...then they would fill up their cup. cut the egg yolks to 8. Used half and half instead of cream and no rum since children were here. It was DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Loved this! My mom and dad said they didn't like eggnog, but tried this and were blown away! They said it tasted like liquid pumpkin pie! Thank you for the great recipe! We'll never buy eggnog from the store again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 639) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States