Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Ostrich--Rating the recipe as excellent IF you don't use all the rum that is called for--seriously, it's WAY too much. My family is stationed in Africa and we quadrupled this recipe (for a large party) and used 1 ostrich egg!! Ostrich meat is completely lean because all the cholesterol goes into the egg. The nog was a bit strong and we will definitely add more milk/cream the next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
One batch is not enough! I made this eggnog for Thanksgiving and it was gone within 1/2 hour. Will triple recipe for Christmas. Only change I made was I used Sailor Jerry spiced rum instead of light rum. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This recipe had great flavor and was pretty easy to follow, but I love really thick eggnog and it lacked a little bit in that department. On average though, one of the better recipes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is delicious!! I used whipping cream and added the remaining vanilla and nutmeg plus an extra tbsp of sugar to it and beat it for several minutes before adding it to the egg mixture. I also used only 2 cups rum instead of 2 1/2. Glad I did or it would have been way too strong. I loved all the spices! Next time I may add cinnamon sticks and more cloves when heating the milk for added spiciness :-) Overall it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was so good! I didn't have any cream on hand, but it tasted just fine without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This is the best eggnog recipe of all time. I leave out the rum because I make it as a dessert. Many of the negative reviews are referencing the rum. I think the ratio is wrong in the recipe for that ingredient, so definitely scale back some if you don't want it to knock out your party lol I also cut back on the sugar (by about 1/4 cup). Store bought eggnog is really sweet. I like sweet, but not sicky sweet. I don't use the double boiler method because it doesn't really prevent the problems that people have. So basically that's it, don't use too much sugar or rum. If you don't have light cream, sub half heavy whipping cream with half whole milk (tastes the same). Need small saucepan, strainer (for cloves), whisk, and mixing bowl to make this recipe. Hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I followed this to a "T" and it was awful. It was too thin and for the amount of ingredients (not cheap by the way!) I should have just stuck with the Betty Cocker Cookbook version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This eggnog turned out excellent. I think using the full 2 1/2 cups of rum is a bit much, it was too strong for my liking, but was sure delicious nonetheless. Very easy to make too, would definitely make it again next Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Soooooo good - used rum extract instead to get the rum "taste" without the alcohol content
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Loved this! Very thick! I actually had to thin it with some milk before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 618) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States