Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Love this recipe! Made it for many international friends while living abroad…they had never tried eggnog before and loved it! I think it works best with a spiced rum (I like Sailor Jerry's), rather than just plain light rum…delicious Christmas in a cup :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courtmac
Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
love this recipe...its always a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I made a small test batch to try as I have wasted alot of ingredients in the past on awful eggnog recipes. Nothing went to waste on this one as it was AWESOME!!!! I made it exactly as directed except I used agave instead of sugar and I skipped the rum because I don't drink alcohol. It tasted great but was a little too sweet and too 'clove'ey...lol..So...next time I will cut the sugar and cut the cloves to suit my families taste. This recipe with alterations is a keeper for us...thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Ostrich--Rating the recipe as excellent IF you don't use all the rum that is called for--seriously, it's WAY too much. My family is stationed in Africa and we quadrupled this recipe (for a large party) and used 1 ostrich egg!! Ostrich meat is completely lean because all the cholesterol goes into the egg. The nog was a bit strong and we will definitely add more milk/cream the next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
One batch is not enough! I made this eggnog for Thanksgiving and it was gone within 1/2 hour. Will triple recipe for Christmas. Only change I made was I used Sailor Jerry spiced rum instead of light rum. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This recipe had great flavor and was pretty easy to follow, but I love really thick eggnog and it lacked a little bit in that department. On average though, one of the better recipes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is delicious!! I used whipping cream and added the remaining vanilla and nutmeg plus an extra tbsp of sugar to it and beat it for several minutes before adding it to the egg mixture. I also used only 2 cups rum instead of 2 1/2. Glad I did or it would have been way too strong. I loved all the spices! Next time I may add cinnamon sticks and more cloves when heating the milk for added spiciness :-) Overall it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was so good! I didn't have any cream on hand, but it tasted just fine without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This is the best eggnog recipe of all time. I leave out the rum because I make it as a dessert. Many of the negative reviews are referencing the rum. I think the ratio is wrong in the recipe for that ingredient, so definitely scale back some if you don't want it to knock out your party lol I also cut back on the sugar (by about 1/4 cup). Store bought eggnog is really sweet. I like sweet, but not sicky sweet. I don't use the double boiler method because it doesn't really prevent the problems that people have. So basically that's it, don't use too much sugar or rum. If you don't have light cream, sub half heavy whipping cream with half whole milk (tastes the same). Need small saucepan, strainer (for cloves), whisk, and mixing bowl to make this recipe. Hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I followed this to a "T" and it was awful. It was too thin and for the amount of ingredients (not cheap by the way!) I should have just stuck with the Betty Cocker Cookbook version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States