Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Yummy! I think next time I'll go easy on the cinnamon but wow it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pleasant View, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I found this recipe to have a Great result. The only changes i made were to substitute cinnamon sticks for ground and a whiskey called Spicebox (which is all natural and has all the background flavors of the eggnog in it already) for the rum....I highly reccomend it. end result was less of the alcohol after taste more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4life

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Tastes nothing like store bought eggnog, and that's a good thing. I don't really care for eggnog from the store, but I am having a Christmas dessert party, and decided to give this a try. It is amazing. I did not add the rum, instead leaving it for people to add themselves. This is perfect for holiday parties, and it was very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
omg omg omg omg - it's time to make this again for me & mother in law!!! We've been looking forward to this since last christmas - because YES, it's THAT amazingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kristiansand, Vest-Agder, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I made this eggnog for my Christmas party this past weekend. It was easy to make and the hit of the party! I served the alcohol on the side as this allows everyone, including the children, to try it and guests can add as much or little as they would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Absolutely delicious!! Give it a day to age and the rum won't overwhelm, honest! I use Captain Morgans and use only whole milk to cut down on the calories and fat and it is still absolutely incredible. We are pretty much non-drinkers here but this is sweet (but not cloyingly sweet), smooth and absolutely yummy!! We discovered this recipe last year and it will be an integral part of our Christmas season from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
really good. A little strong so next time a little less rum, but the drunks at my party last night loved it. ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by al

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Be very careful when you're bringing the milk mixture to a boil in the beginning - it only need to JUST boil, or it might curdle!! Also, we whisked the egg yolks and the sugar in the kitchenaid mixer until they were fluffy, and then VERY VERY SLOWLY (at least for the first couple of cups) added the hot milk mixture to the fluffy egg yolk mixture with the mixer still going on medium speed - that way the egg mixture gets tempered and doesn't turn into scrambled egg! When everything was all mixed we put it back on the stove and cooked it (stirring constantly) until it reached 160F, which is when eggs are deemed "safe". You have the option (in some recipes) to whip the egg whites up separately and then fold them into the eggnog at the very end (I'm not sure whether you'd add them to the hot eggnog or whether you'd let it cool first...) but we didn't do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Delicious! Not too difficult, just make sure you temper your eggs before you mix them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraellen225

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Excellent! I have made 4 gallons (yes gallons!) this year for different events and it came out great! This recipe is very forgiving. You can adjust the sweetness as you need to. I also omitted the alcohol as we are serving to kids :) If you have a high power blender (like a Vitamix) you can put it in there (if it gets a little clumpy) and blend it together. I do it every time, I don't strain it, I just put it in my Vitamix to whip it all together and it comes out smooth and great! Another thing I do is to substitute the milk for some heavy cream or half and half or if you want a lighter nog then use skim milk. I have used this recipe for the last three years and will always use it! I quit buying eggnog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Leicester, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States