Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Excellent recipe, although very cream heavy for drinking on its own (for me). If you make it the way it is written above with or without the rum, try adding to coffee.....AMAZING! I redid the recipe using skim milk for the initial boiled portion and substituted whole milk for the light cream, and it was much easier to drink. This is a perfect blend of the various spices. Kudos!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Stoltzfus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Alcohol kills bacteria so cooking it is redundant. If you are serving kids and no alcohol then you should cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harry Gruene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Delicious!! I used only 1 cup of rum and it turned out perfectly. I also added a bit of allspice. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I've always been back and forth on whether or not I like eggnog or not. I like the idea of it, but sometimes it's just not my thing. I made this because my son loooooves eggnog and I've been getting him I to cooking as a science. Oh. Em. Gee. It is so good. the only thing I changed was the light cream. I have no idea what that is. After googling it and getting a ton of results about the fats left in the dairy product, I just decided to go with 2 cups half and half and 2 cups heavy cream and hoped that would somehow equal light cream-ish. Definitely making this again, in the next 3 days, to give out as christmas goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Our family agrees--this is the best egg nog we've ever had! The amount of rum is perfect. Wouldn't change a thing. Thank you! I didn't have light cream, so I used half and half and heavy cream equally. Great holiday treat!!! Can't wait until next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancylw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
delicious! a little on the sweet side for my personal taste, but still good :) also i added only a 1/4 of the rum initially (i used a dark rum, not light) as it would be too strong for some of my family, and more can always be added as its served ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine German

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I made this recipe last Christmas with & without the rum (because of all the pregnant mommies & little ones) for Christmas morning at my boyfriend's families house an they absolutely loved it! Even the little kids too. My boyfriend's little girl helps me make it. It's going to be our Christmas eve tradition from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This recipe is the closest thing I can get to the real (read: store-bought) thing in the UK (though I leave out the rum and sub with more milk). Even my British friends are fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wonk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I was really nervous to try this because it seemed complicated. It was actually super easy to make and tastes delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Prime

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Made it with only 2tbsp brown sugar and 1/4 cup maple syrup, much less cream (maybe 1 cup? eyeballed it), and only a drop or two of Rum extract instead of alcohol... but very tasty!! :) My husband and I LOVE home-made eggnog and using this recipe as our guide did not disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 630) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States