Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Easy and very good. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Like others before me have mentioned - waaaaaay to dry and crumbly (Had to add quite a bit of butter milk and butter just in order to make the dough stay together instead of fall apart.) It amazes me how this recipe turns out "way too runny" for some, and "way too dry" for others. I wonder if there are different kinds of buttermilk or something that might cause the difference?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Never made or even tried soda bread before, so I had no idea what to expect. The end result was like a scone on steroids. More of a biscuit-like texture than bread. Just a hint of sweetness. Not sure if that's the way it's suppose to be, but we kind of liked what we got. I used my Kitchenaid stand mixer with the paddle for the initial mixing, and the dough hook instead of kneading. Easiest bread I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I have never made bread in my life. Tried this recipe and it was incredibly easy and delicious. Gotta love such a yummy, easy & quick recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cloverdale, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Good flavor but next time i will add a little more sugar, a bit less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Excellent. Just be sure to bake it for the full time as the centre can be gooey if taken out of oven early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Nice flavor, not very sweet, a little crumbly. Used butter instead of margarine and cut the butter into the flour mixture before adding egg and buttermilk. 2T butter/buttermilk was plenty for brushing over top. Good, quick bread, but not particularly amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Made this one for the first time yesterday for the St. Patrick's dinner. It was a hit! My oldest son said it was the best soda bread I've made yet & he couldn't stop eating it. I served it with home made honey butter. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and mine did not turn out. This was my first attempt at trying to make Irish Soda Bread. Mine was heavy and dense, not light and fluffy as some described. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mommy2L
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I started my mixing in the Kitchen Aide and then kneaded for a while on a floured surface. I added about 1/2 cup raisins by kneading them into the dough. Recipe yielded one fairly large loaf, which I probably could have made into two if necessary. The recipe was very simple and cooked well for 45 minutes at 375. Mildly sweet, traditional tasting loaf -DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States