Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Really good. I didn't add the sugar because I prefer a savory bread. Will make again and again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I've made this bread several times. The flavor is excellent and everyone I've ever served it to has loved it. It is easy and pulls together quickly. For me, though, the amount of buttermilk is off. The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with a dry crumbly loaf of dough that would barely hold together. Out of the oven the outside was done but the loaf had a thick, doughy core. Now, I start every time with the 1 cup that is called for. The dough is still dry and crumbly and will not pull together. I have learned to add more buttermilk, a little at a time, until I get the right consistency. I bake for the entire 45 minutes and baste every 10 minutes and get a very nice browned and crunchy crust with a moist and flavorful inside. With that one change this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Great recipe! It is a little biscuit like in flavor and texture, which made it all the better. Basting with the butter/buttermilk mixture is key - it made for a delicious crust. Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIERSA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
The flavor was lovely. I wish I'd followed another reviewer's advice and lowered the oven temperature. The outside was super crusty, bordering on burnt, and the inside was really dense and moist. I flattened the dough down a bit before baking so it wasn't such a round shape, but I think it needed more than that to get an even bake. Will probably try again, but using a lower temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I found the dough to be very dry. I had a hard time kneading it all in. It turned out O.K. but I think that it needed more moisture. SJS9
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Making the bread was fast and easy - but it tasted just like a biscuit. Nor sure what I expected but this wasn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abtripster
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I made this for our team's Saint Patrick's Day party and everyone said it was delightful! It's crumbly and perfect with cornbeef and cabbage. I can't believe how easy it was to make. I just watched the video a few times and went for it. Definitely something I will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abtripster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This recipe turned out great. Other recipes I looked at had two cups of buttermilk with less flour. Never made this before so maybe I'll try another to compare them. Will make this again for sure! lauraebos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This is a family favorite. I follow the directions exactly, no changes needed, but I always end up cooking for the max amount of time. I was so happy to finally find a recipe that didn't call for raisins. I end up having to make my brother his own loaf for his birthday every year, and it never seems to last him more than a couple of days. When I make at home, my husband and i seem to devour in two days as well, I love it with just butter, but he's asked me to include that this is amazing with peanut butter as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States