Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Fabulous and easy! I followed the recipe but added ½ cup raisins and baked for 75 minutes at 350. Other reviewers were correct in that adding raisins added to the baking time (15 min), as well as baking at 350 rather than 375. My bread was sufficiently brown on the top after 30 minutes so I covered with foil for the rest of the baking time and it was perfectly brown after 75 minutes. I basted once before placing in the oven and at 30 minutes. Also, I am not a raisin fan but they are definitely a huge plus for this bread. The bread was delicious with the perfect amount of sweetness. This will be my go-to bread from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I basted the top of bread with buttermilk, melted butter 3 times and sprinkled a generous amount of sugar on too each time. I baked it at 340 degrees. 1 hr. Toothpick came out clean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. It smelled strongly of soda and also turned very dry. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Needed more buttermilk than stated but all in all is was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
fantastic, easy recipe! I'm not Irish, but I'm definitely going to be making this bread all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
We love this recipe in my house and I have made it about five times already. It is incredibly easy. The texture is similar to a scone and is delicious toasted with marmalade. The only change I made is to use 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 white flour and to add golden raisins that have been soaked in buttermilk. I add them just before kneading, otherwise it is hard to work them into the dough without over-kneading. It is my son's favorite breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
pretty darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Very different from what I expected but delicious and easy. It almost had a cornbread like flavor. My husband even asked if there was cornmeal in it. I did let it sit for 20 min before baking as suggested by another reviewer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I've made this recipe several times, and it generally makes a pretty good loaf of dense, slightly sweet bread. I have made the recipe as-is for St Patrick's Day, but most of the time, I substitute 1 or 2 cups of the white flour with whole wheat flour, and sometimes add raisins. I usually skip the basting with melted butter part, although I will brush a little buttermilk on top just before baking if I have any left over. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Very dry even when I tried with extra buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States