Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This didn't work for me at all. After 45 minutes baking the outside was done nicely, but the inside (probably half of the loaf) was gooey and completely un-baked. Unfortunately this ended up being inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Fennell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Easy to make - excellent flavor - will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VBARTLETT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made three different soda bread recipes this year. This is by far the best off the three. I used about 1/3C white sugar and would keep it that way. Next time I will also add raisins and caraway seeds to this base recipe for more of an "American" Irish soda bread. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Really good. I didn't add the sugar because I prefer a savory bread. Will make again and again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I've made this bread several times. The flavor is excellent and everyone I've ever served it to has loved it. It is easy and pulls together quickly. For me, though, the amount of buttermilk is off. The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with a dry crumbly loaf of dough that would barely hold together. Out of the oven the outside was done but the loaf had a thick, doughy core. Now, I start every time with the 1 cup that is called for. The dough is still dry and crumbly and will not pull together. I have learned to add more buttermilk, a little at a time, until I get the right consistency. I bake for the entire 45 minutes and baste every 10 minutes and get a very nice browned and crunchy crust with a moist and flavorful inside. With that one change this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Great recipe! It is a little biscuit like in flavor and texture, which made it all the better. Basting with the butter/buttermilk mixture is key - it made for a delicious crust. Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIERSA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
The flavor was lovely. I wish I'd followed another reviewer's advice and lowered the oven temperature. The outside was super crusty, bordering on burnt, and the inside was really dense and moist. I flattened the dough down a bit before baking so it wasn't such a round shape, but I think it needed more than that to get an even bake. Will probably try again, but using a lower temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I found the dough to be very dry. I had a hard time kneading it all in. It turned out O.K. but I think that it needed more moisture. SJS9
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Making the bread was fast and easy - but it tasted just like a biscuit. Nor sure what I expected but this wasn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 848) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States