Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I had never tried soda bread before, but this recipe is a hit! At first I thought it was going to be just a big biscuit, but it is oh so good. As one reviewer said, one should reduce the oven temp and cook a bit longer. It was a tad doughy in the center, even though the toothpick did come out clean!?!? Also, do be sure to baste the buttermilk/butter mixture several times while baking. Thank you, MP Welty, for this wonderful recipe. I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sego

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Painted Post, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I really liked this and so did my hubby and kids. I was a little worried when I was kneading it as it was pretty crumbly but went with it. It's like a cross between a sweet bread and a biscuit. I made this to go with my corned beef cooked in Guiness (recipe on this site) for St. Pat's day. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I'm not a good baker-- but this turned out GREAT!! I made it as directed, but I did attempt a mid-bake basting of the leftover butter/ buttermilk mixture; the top of bread got a bit browned, I think because of it. I won't do that again, but it doesn't really matter, because regardless, it was a great tasting bread and would go quite well with any soups/ stews. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Delicious, moist and addicting. I am not convinced that it is authentic, but it's incredible. I did add raisins but it was incredible. All the kids at the preschool where I work look forward to this annual St. Patrick's Day treat. It comes out like a big, moist, buttery biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Made this for the first time today. It was so easy and fantastic. Great consistency and just slightly sweet. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This recipe is so simple and very good. The only change I made was to use butter instead of margarine (does anyone really still use margarine, I hope not!). I will make this again. Thanks for sharing.--Vicki
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Good. In my opinion it needs raisins though to round it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made it and it's great. It's dense but not heavy or dry. I really hate raisins and especially caraway seeds which everybody loves to add to Irish Soda Bread so this is perfect. After reading some reviews, I preheated the oven to 375° but when I put the loaf in the oven I immediately reduced it to 350° then baked for 1 hour. It was fine. I have to say that I just watched the video and my dough was MUCH dryer and more crumbly than shown. Next time I'll add extra buttermilk to offset that which should also make it even more delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
So good and so easy. If you have a stand mixer, use it and you will not have to knead the bread at all. I pressed the round down just slightly before baking to ensure it cooked through all the way. Definitely keep brushing on the buttermilk/butter periodically during cooking. It makes the crust come out nice and golden. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessgertie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 851) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States