Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made it and it's great. It's dense but not heavy or dry. I really hate raisins and especially caraway seeds which everybody loves to add to Irish Soda Bread so this is perfect. After reading some reviews, I preheated the oven to 375° but when I put the loaf in the oven I immediately reduced it to 350° then baked for 1 hour. It was fine. I have to say that I just watched the video and my dough was MUCH dryer and more crumbly than shown. Next time I'll add extra buttermilk to offset that which should also make it even more delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
So good and so easy. If you have a stand mixer, use it and you will not have to knead the bread at all. I pressed the round down just slightly before baking to ensure it cooked through all the way. Definitely keep brushing on the buttermilk/butter periodically during cooking. It makes the crust come out nice and golden. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessgertie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA
Photo by twoyorkiesmom
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Delicious!!! Easy to make and taste so good! Will be making again and again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twoyorkiesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
It was good. Easy to make. Have never had Irish Soda bread before to say how this recipe compares, but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I've tried this twice. The first time was exactly as written and directed and it came out fine, though I thought it was too crumbly and didn't think it would hold together. It did tend to fall apart while cutting and while trying to put butter on it, but it still tasted fine. My husband declared it the best bread he's had in years. Also, the cooking time is WAY off. Not sure who was able to get it done in 30-45 minutes. Mine took well over an hour before it was a lovely crusty color on the outside and done on the inside. I did continue to baste the butter/buttermilk mixture onto the bread every 15 minutes or so. Keep in mind that if you continue to baste then you'll probably get a burnt crust around the bottom edge of the bread where it drips down. My husband called it "caramelization", god bless him. I also added a sprinkle of turbinado sugar ("Sugar in the Raw") to the top to add some extra crunch. The 2nd time I made it I also used the KitchenAid stand mixer which really assists with making it easier and less messy to prepare. I also added an extra 1/2 an egg, which I thought would help hold it all together better. That worked but it changed the color to a slightly more yellow color from the bready white I had before. No matter because in both cases (even with the "caramelization" on the bottom) the bread disappeared before I knew what hit me. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goddess63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This didn't work for me at all. After 45 minutes baking the outside was done nicely, but the inside (probably half of the loaf) was gooey and completely un-baked. Unfortunately this ended up being inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Fennell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Easy to make - excellent flavor - will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VBARTLETT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made three different soda bread recipes this year. This is by far the best off the three. I used about 1/3C white sugar and would keep it that way. Next time I will also add raisins and caraway seeds to this base recipe for more of an "American" Irish soda bread. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Really good. I didn't add the sugar because I prefer a savory bread. Will make again and again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I've made this bread several times. The flavor is excellent and everyone I've ever served it to has loved it. It is easy and pulls together quickly. For me, though, the amount of buttermilk is off. The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with a dry crumbly loaf of dough that would barely hold together. Out of the oven the outside was done but the loaf had a thick, doughy core. Now, I start every time with the 1 cup that is called for. The dough is still dry and crumbly and will not pull together. I have learned to add more buttermilk, a little at a time, until I get the right consistency. I bake for the entire 45 minutes and baste every 10 minutes and get a very nice browned and crunchy crust with a moist and flavorful inside. With that one change this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 853) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States