Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This is the 2nd soda bread I've tried and this recipe is by far THE BEST of the 2. Very easy to assemble and the taste is WONDERFUL. I added the raisins which to me makes this bread even better. Very good with a little butter and jam. Will be having it alongside our corned beef, cabbage and potatoes for St. patty's Day tomorrow. Can't wait!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIZCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houlton, Maine, USA
Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Followed this recipe exactly....easy to make and really good. Hubby gives it two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
left out the raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrMagoo12771

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Jervis, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
The pic looks like it has raisins in it but it's not in the recipe. So I did add the raisins in kneading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
yes & turned out lovely!!! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Excellent bread went great with corned beef dinner we had last night. Only change was that I used real butter in the bread and for the buttermilk wash for the outside. Was good toasted with egg and sausage for breakfast this morning too. I will use this recipe from now on for strawberry shortcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Used the Kitchenaid mixer. Added one cup of raisens to the recipe. Used butter not margarine. Next time I will separate the dough to make two loaves. That should help the cooking time. Husband approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Finally succeeded in making bread! The first time I followed this, the bread was great except for an unfortunate raw spot in the top that just wouldn't cook away. After reading a few reviews, this was what I did. Followed the recipe, except I made buttermilk from milk and lemon juice. Combined all ingredients, kneaded in a large handful of raisins, and set on a floured pizza stone. Cooked at 350 degrees for an hour, took it out half an hour in and braised with milk and butter and returned it to the oven for the remaining half hour. After it hour was up, I took it out and immediately wrapped it in foil and a dish towel in room temperature, until it cooled. It cooked completely through and is moist, fluffy, and delicious. Win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Very easy recipe and quite tasty. I love how it can be completely made in one bowl. I didn't have to knead the dough on the counter as it mixes extremely well right from the bowl you use. I hadn't made an Irish Soda bread before but I will continue to make this one in the future. I used the buttermilk because I hadn't cooked with it before but will use the usual substitutes in the future so that I can make this bread whenever I want. A modification that I plan to do in the future is to add grated cheese and garlic for a different flavour. It won't be Irish but I think it will turn out quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I followed recipe exactly as written so I could give a "true" review. I absolutely love this bread!! I can only imagine that adding a few different ingredients like raisins would enhance the flavor. But just try it as is, it's truly delicious. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denece Frisbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 874) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States