Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
The butter in this recipe gives it the texture and flavor of a giant scone. Delicious! So easy, my 3 year old loved making this with me. Makes wonderful toast the following day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I made this for the first time this weekend for two St. Patrick Day dinners. I made 3 loaves (one at a time) and they all turned out so delicious. I made one with walnuts and craisins, and two plain. Each type got rave reviews from our neighbors and my family. I did add a bit more buttermilk to the dough as it was a bit dry and was falling apart as I kneaded. This could have been the result of my measurements of flour since my 5 year old was assisting me. I loved the ease of using one bowl! The last one I baked at 350 degrees for a little longer because my oven tends to run hot. It was probably the best out of the three in terms of texture on the outside and in. I just made myself some toast with the leftovers...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I added about a cup of currants to the dry ingredients before adding the wet. For me, that put it over the top delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Easy to make in my kitchen aid mixer and it was a great accompaniment to our St Patrick's Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This recipe was great. My husband loves this bread, he made it and said it's delicious. I can't speak myself on it bc I don't like irish soda bread. Said the only thing he'd change is to nclude raisins (he added 1cup) and caraway seeds (to your liking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was fantastic for a St. Patty's Day bread! Loved it. I baked mine in a stone pan at 350 for 65 mins and it was perfect. 50 mins wasn't long enough. Also sprinkled some sugar on top for sweetness. I added 1/3 cup of sugar instead of 1/4 cup, too. I let my bread sit for 30 minutes before putting it in the oven to let the baking soda and powder sit. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This recipe is very easy. My only change was to use butter instead of margarine. The taste was also better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Very nice texture. Just as the recipe states it was very easy. The taste was delish. And just like I remember from Meals eaten in Traditional Irish establishments overseas. Super side for Irish stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita and Tim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
delicious and easy- no yeast involved!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nolagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Made this to accompany our corned beef and cabbage dinner for St. Patrick's Day. This recipe is "amazingly" easy and very nice. I've never had Irish Soda Bread so have nothing with which to compare. Loved the texture and biscuit like taste. After dinner I had some with butter and honey - yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 874) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States