Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I've wanted to try making Irish soda bread for several years now. This past St. Patty's day I finally did. This recipe is very easy and good just as it is. I think I will take others suggestion and add raisins next time. It is a very dense bread, though. A little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Warner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Talena
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I make this every year on St. Patrick's Day. My family loves it and it is so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Delicious! Easy (don't let the kneading scare you away - think of it like playing with playdough) and perfect for dinner or with your tea. I basted it three times with the buttermilk/butter mixture throughout the cooking time (baked at 350 and for about 10-15 mins longer) and sprinkled with sugar each time. This resulted in a crisp and sweet crust. Raisins would be an excellent addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jcolt
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
YUM! This was so tasty, like a big, sweet biscuit. I bake a lot, so I mixed the wet together and sifted and added in the dry, as typical, rather than mixing all together then adding buttermilk and egg. I also added about 1/4 cup more buttermilk to ensure the bread would stay moist. It worked out great. I added about 1/2 cup of raisins to be more authentically Irish. :-) I basted the bread with the butter/buttermilk mixture 3 times and also sprinkled a bit of sugar on top each time while it was baking. As per other reviews, I reduced the temp to 340 degrees and it took about an hour or so to bake all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcolt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Really good. I mixed with dough hook in Kitchen Aid mixer and it turned out great. I think basting often is necessary for this to not get too dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I made three loaves last night and it was a huge success! Not only was the process quick and simple but the results were- and I am quoting my Irish mother-in-law here- "the best soda bread she has ever had". Last year we even bought ours at Marianos! Now how's that for review. I will make this recipe every year (and as one person pointed out, as a substitute for cornbread to go with chili). I used a few user suggestions and cooked mine at 340F for about 50 min and basted aroung 3 times each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Coleman
Living In: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Great recipe !! Love the crunch of the crust and super flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Super easy and delicious! Everyone if the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I halved this recipe (used 1 small egg) to make a small loaf of bread for our St. Patrick's day dinner. I brushed the loaf with the butter/buttlermilk mixture every 15 minutes during the baking time. It baked up beautifully and had a nice flavor. Served this with 'Stout Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Veggies' and 'Irish Tea Cake', both from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This was SO easy to make and everyone loved it! I followed the recipe nearly exact, except I added a half cup of golden raisins before turning out and shaping the loaf. Will absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 875) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States