Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was good. I think as good as whole wheat can get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I have tried many whole wheat pizza crust recipes over the years and all have fallen short of being what I hoped they would be. This one passed the test! Amazing!!! I used all whole wheat flour (3-1/2 cups) and added about 4 tsp. of gluten because of the absence of white flour. I also added 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper, 1 T Italian seasoning, and some garlic powder as the dough mixed. Again, this crust was amazing! As stated in the description, chewy on the inside and crisp on the outside. Delicious! Baked my crusts at 425* as the recipe indicated and they turned out perfectly golden brown. I could go on and on about how much my family and I loved this recipe! Will be making again and again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
The recipe in itself is good. I am just taking issue with the fact that it is called whole wheat pizza dough, when in fact only half of the flour in it is whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lidija Rafeek Ex Jesic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Thank you so much for this pizza dough recipe. We use it all the time to make pizza for our family. We keep our flour mixed half/half whole wheat and white all the time, so that is the only difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Amazing! I do like the other reviews suggest and use all whole wheat flour and honey instead of sugar. I also added 1 tbsp of basil and 1/2 tbsp of oregano to the crust. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This crust is good and simple and works out great for cooking pizzas on the grill. Will use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
What I liked best about this recipe is that the directions are very simple. It has basic ingredients, which can be found at the local market, and also instructions that are simple to follow as one, two, and three. It is a fast recipe that produces a yummy crust that can be topped with anything from mushrooms to pineapples. Now, when making the pizza dough I ran into a couple small snags. I was getting the yeast ready, and ended up making my water too hot, which then killed the yeast. The water needs to be around 110 degrees to activate the yeast. If you don’t have a thermometer just heat the water until it is warm, but not scolding hot. Another thing is that I didn’t use all of the white flour the recipe called for. I used about 2/3 cups for my flour when mixing, because if I had added any more it would have made the dough dry. It is good to keep the dough a little moist. I discovered the best way to tell when it is ready, is when it doesn’t stick to my hands when kneading it. I would suggest watching the dough closely, so that too much flour doesn’t get added. The last issue is the timing. I cooked the pizza at 350 for 20 minutes, and it came out well done the recipe said; cook it at 425 for 20 minutes, which would have left the pizza burnt. I strongly suggest you keep to 350 and ignore the 425. If it doesn’t cook all the way in 20 minutes just leave it in for a few minutes longer. I toped my pizza with mozzarella cheese, pepperonis, pineapple and spinach and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Wow what an amazing dough recipe, I peferred to use all whole wheat flour so I followed the reviews and used 31/4 of flour. It was excellent tasting, and making it with the electric stand mixer did all the work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Amazing whole wheat crust recipe! I have never made homemade pizza, but dying to try it. We used all organic ingredients and followed the recipe to a tee, using half of the recipe for the thinner crust. We topped it with grilled eggplant, roasted Roma tomatoes and red onion, and a sprinkling of parmesan and Italian seasoning. Delicious! The crust held together beautifully for a thin crust and was golden brown on the bottom. Nice light whole wheat taste. It's exciting to know we have another crust in the freezer! We can't wait to have a few friends over for pizza, wine, and movie night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 739) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States