Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
This was an ideal recipe. The only additions I made were fresh chopped garlic and fresh basil in the dough. the crust was thin, but chewy and crisp at the same time. For my topping I roasted red peppers, eggplant, mushroom and onions, plus chicken sausage. raves reviews all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
better than I expected, even with multi toppings, crust held up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzybeth267

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
So I read the reviews and used 3 3/4 cup whole wheat flour. I forgot to let it rise the second time and it still came out great! I made two batches and froze the second batch prior to second rise. I will just thaw it and let it rise before cooking it. Everyone loved it, and using a food processor made it a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina Monteiro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
I always get a bit hesitant when making pizza dough/crust....the first time I attempted to do this (not using this recipe), I used all whole wheat flour and I believe I didn't have the right water temperature to let the yeast sit; I also hadn't added a sweetener to the yeast/water. That dough came out with a "bite" to it. This recipe is fabulous and very foundational. I followed many of the commenters' adjustments--I did all whole wheat (3 1/4 c.) and substituted sugar for honey. Even dividing this recipe in half, the one-half pizza dough is enough to create a medium-crust pizza. It's essential to pre-bake the dough before putting toppings on it. Put the oven at 500 F, oil your pan lightly, and put the flattened dough on top. I would suggest taking a pastry brush and lightly brushing the dough with olive oil. This ensures the pizza will not become soggy, esp. if you put a ton of toppings on it--like me! I also stuff my crusts--diced/minced garlic and diced cilantro along the pre-oiled edges and fold over. Creates a layer and depth of flavor that complements toppings. Take crust out w/n 6 mins, lower oven temp to 450 F, layer your toppings and put pizza back in oven. Also, I decided to freeze the second half of the dough for later use --just pat it/knead it down after 2nd time letting it sit, wrap it in saran wrap and put it in a freezer baggy. Cuts down a lot of time for the future! Likely to put this recipe in my toolbox.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I also altered this recipe to my particular diet and tastes, but it was fantastic! It did need more seasoning so I doubled the salt,but I make a vegan pizza with only sauce and veggies so it may not be needed with traditional pizza toppings. I also eat low fat so I eliminated the oils. I cook the pizza on parchment paper to make it oil-free nonstick. I also eliminated the all purpose flour and increased the whole wheat. I ended up with 3 1/4 cups of whole wheat flour, more or less may be needed depending on humidity. I swapped out the sugar for honey. A very adaptable recipe anyone can play with and enjoy in good health. It was a breeze to make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I really like this recipe a lot - I will not buy store-bough pizza crusts again! I made a couple of adjustments - some due to preference and some for my breadmaker. I used all whole-wheat flour - 3 1/4 cups and I usually have to add an additional 1-2 tablespoons of water during the kneading phase to get the dough the right consistency. I use a teaspoon of honey instead of white sugar, and sometimes I add a tablespoon of Italian seasoning to the mix. Set the breadmaker on the dough setting, and this makes enough for 2 large thin crusts. I bake the crust for 5-6 minutes at 475 degrees, then add topping and cook for another 10-12 minutes. I usually use 1 crust and freeze the other for the next week. To thaw, I put it in the fridge for a day & let it set on the counter for 30 minutes before using. Seriously, after making this, I see no reason to buy dough or crusts anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sshm7
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Made this crust following the exact recipe and wow! Never gonna make another pizza dough again besides this one! Letting it rise for the whole amount of time is crucial for it to come out súper soft and perfectly chewy- conpliment with vegan cheese for a truly healthy and absolutely delicious pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dory
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
It was my first time making pizza from scratch. This recipe is amazing and easy to make. I wanted to make a thin pizza so I used only half the dough and saved the other half in the fridge for future use. The wheat pizza crust was easy to roll and the crust turned out perfectly! The crust is slightly crunchy on the edge and soft and chewy inside. I will try this recipe again using my dough hook next time. Also I may use only a third of the dough next time to see if the crust will turn crunchy. If this is the only pizza crust recipe you want to try, this recipe is the one for you! It is a wheat crust so it is tasty and healthy for your whole family too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Not worth making two crusts- just one big one is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Our family makes pizza at least twice a month. I have tried several crust recipes but this has become our favorite. It also reheats very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 756) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins

Enjoy these tasty muffins for a healthy, hearty breakfast treat.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States