Amazing White Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I thought this was a very good recipe but my husband and I thought about a couple of changes we would make. First of all, we both love spicy food but many people don't so we would cut the red pepper flakes in half. We also found it abit oily so we would cut the olive oil in half too. And the last change we would make is that we would have used heavy cream instead of half and half to make for a thicker sauce. But it truly was a very tasty dish. Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
This particular clam sauce was spectacular. My finance and myself both loved it. Although we would personally add heavy cream and more garlic, it was absolutely delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I was concerned about how non creamy it was and added a little parmesan cheese to thicken it up. Next time I plan to cut the olive oil and use heavy cream as the other reviews suggested. Still really good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This was a good recipe and I like spice, but two tablespoons was FAR too much of red pepper flakes! My stomach is still burning 24 hours later. I would cut the red pepper flakes to 1/2 teaspoon at most! I added parmesan cheese to thicken it up, and I agree with the other reviews about using heavy cream instead of half and half. The recipe itself was good and I would try it again with the above listed changes - maybe even adding a few mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This recipe was pretty good. I, like others, prefer a thicker sauce. I halved the olive oil, used heavy cream instead of half & half as suggested, and it was still a little too runny. I added about 2 tbsp of corn starch to thicken it up. The taste was great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I only put a few tablespoons of olive oil in the pan and sauted the onions and garlic. Other than that, followed the recipe EXACTLY! It was INCREDIBLE! It was like an AWESOME Italian or Seafood restaurant quality meal AT HOME! Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
The sauce was very runny and presentation looked bad. I don't know if I would make it again, if I did I would use less olive oil and heavy cream for a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
This was very simple and quick fix up meal. Second time I made it, I used spam and it turned out pretty good as well. Also I used cream of chicken instead of mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
I love clam sauce but the version I've always use has wine in it, which my husband doesn't like. I tried this recipe as an alternative and I'm so glad I did! I did make a few changes-- less oil, shallots instead of onion, a little less garlic, no red pepper, heavy cream instead of half-and-half, 4 cans of clams (2 minced, 2 chopped) and I, too, used some cornstarch to make this nice and thick! It was plenty for a pound of linguine, and was delicious the first night served AND left over... This is my new claim sauce recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I made this for my family and everyone requested seconds plus the recipe! YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States