Amazing White Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
This clam sauce was yummy to me, but my husband said, and I quote "I just can't eat this". His loss in my opinion! The only thing I did different was to cut way back on the amount of olive oil. Way to much, not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
My mom and I decided to make this and try it for dinner tonight. It was as easy as can be to make and really good. We are adding it to our list of favourites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ameliasburgh, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I made this for my family and everyone requested seconds plus the recipe! YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
I love clam sauce but the version I've always use has wine in it, which my husband doesn't like. I tried this recipe as an alternative and I'm so glad I did! I did make a few changes-- less oil, shallots instead of onion, a little less garlic, no red pepper, heavy cream instead of half-and-half, 4 cans of clams (2 minced, 2 chopped) and I, too, used some cornstarch to make this nice and thick! It was plenty for a pound of linguine, and was delicious the first night served AND left over... This is my new claim sauce recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
This was very simple and quick fix up meal. Second time I made it, I used spam and it turned out pretty good as well. Also I used cream of chicken instead of mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
The sauce was very runny and presentation looked bad. I don't know if I would make it again, if I did I would use less olive oil and heavy cream for a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I only put a few tablespoons of olive oil in the pan and sauted the onions and garlic. Other than that, followed the recipe EXACTLY! It was INCREDIBLE! It was like an AWESOME Italian or Seafood restaurant quality meal AT HOME! Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This recipe was pretty good. I, like others, prefer a thicker sauce. I halved the olive oil, used heavy cream instead of half & half as suggested, and it was still a little too runny. I added about 2 tbsp of corn starch to thicken it up. The taste was great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This was a good recipe and I like spice, but two tablespoons was FAR too much of red pepper flakes! My stomach is still burning 24 hours later. I would cut the red pepper flakes to 1/2 teaspoon at most! I added parmesan cheese to thicken it up, and I agree with the other reviews about using heavy cream instead of half and half. The recipe itself was good and I would try it again with the above listed changes - maybe even adding a few mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I was concerned about how non creamy it was and added a little parmesan cheese to thicken it up. Next time I plan to cut the olive oil and use heavy cream as the other reviews suggested. Still really good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States