Amazing White Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
GREAT, I added white wine and mushrooms to mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
FANTASTIC! I used 1/2 stick of butter and a nice splash of extra virgin olive oil to cook the onion mixture. Then I added like a tablespoon or two of flour and let that cook for a minute before adding the clam juice and 1/2&1/2, which allowed the sauce to thicken up nicely. Also, I only used maybe 1/2-3/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes and that was perfect for us. This was enough sauce for 1lb. of linguine. I will be using this recipe ofen! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
With a few changes because of tips/availability this was the best linguine and clam sauce I've ever made!.. I halfed the oil and red pepper. I didn't have 3 cans of clams so I used two cans of clams and re-filled one can with chicken broth and used that; added a handful of chopped raw shrimp during the last 5 minutes to give them time to cook, thickened with 1T cornstarch mixed into 4T half and half, stirred in and simmered until thickened! Serve topped with crushed black pepper, parmesan cheese and parsley! Delish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Wow I made it last night and everyone loved it. It was awesome I added it to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I made this for dinner tonight and everyone loved it. I did kinda burn the onions, but I only used a little so it didn't do to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefan
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
My family loves this mix with calms and 1/2 and 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I have to say we loved this one. I did make a few changes. I didn"t use all that olive oil, just enough to cook the onions and garlic in. I also added some wine before the the clam juice and let the alcohol cook off. Last but not least I used heavy cream because that is what I had in the frig. Wait there was one more thing,,,fresh peper. I add it to almost everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Great recipe however I would cut the red flake to 2 teaspoons...also, heres a good trick to REALLY bring all together, saute some onions and bacon and then add those to the recipe....outstanding results!....Never had a complaint yet and I am constantly hounded to make this dish for the family and crew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadMike

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This recipe was wonderful. Only things I added were fresh crumbled bacon when I added the cream, and 1 tbspn lemon juice to the clam juice. I also thickened the sauce with a little corn starch. I had so much left over, I made clam chowder with it and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
My dh adores this dish! I always sprinkle some cayenne in it instead of red pepper flakes, just enough to have some bite. I think it needs either more cooking time or some cornstarch in order to make a thick sauce, but it tastes great whether it's thick or not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States