Amazing White Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
I love clam sauce but the version I've always use has wine in it, which my husband doesn't like. I tried this recipe as an alternative and I'm so glad I did! I did make a few changes-- less oil, shallots instead of onion, a little less garlic, no red pepper, heavy cream instead of half-and-half, 4 cans of clams (2 minced, 2 chopped) and I, too, used some cornstarch to make this nice and thick! It was plenty for a pound of linguine, and was delicious the first night served AND left over... This is my new claim sauce recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I thought this was a very good recipe but my husband and I thought about a couple of changes we would make. First of all, we both love spicy food but many people don't so we would cut the red pepper flakes in half. We also found it abit oily so we would cut the olive oil in half too. And the last change we would make is that we would have used heavy cream instead of half and half to make for a thicker sauce. But it truly was a very tasty dish. Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janay
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
WHOA! I'm absolutely convinced that two tablespoons of red pepper flakes was a typo. She had to have meant teaspoons. The initial flavor of the sauce is amazing until you get the hot flavor of the flakes. Between 0-2 teaspoons of red pepper flakes make this dish a wonderful keeper in our home. I also cut the amount of oil in half and used heavy cream. Other reviewers complained that there weren't enough clams in the recipe. However, if you're concerned about picky eaters, the amount in the recipe is plenty. Note: if you have already followed the recipe exactly and find that it's too hot, adding some extra heavy cream and a half cup of freshly shredded parmesan cheese definitely cools it off without losing any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
DELICIOUS! I like my Clam sauce a little heartier, so I used heavy cream substituted chopped clams. I thickened it up with heaping Tablespoon of cornstarch, dissolved in water and stirred it in the last several minutes of simmering. Also... if you've never tried fresh pasta, you don't know what you are missing! Great recipe... THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
1T butter, 1 T evoo, 2 10oz cans clams and 2 8.5oz bottles clam juice. Added 1 T flour after cooking onions before adding clam juice. Reduced down by 2/3rds before adding half and half and clams. Cut pepper flakes to 2t (just right). Cooked pasta al dente then dumped into sauce to absorb and thicken. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I was actually looking for my recipe to email someone, and this comes close - to address people's comments here, I make it like this, but start with a roue of butter and flour - you could use cornstarch. Then it gets thick without trying to reduce it so much. Classic recipe, to me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This was delicious. Took some suggestions from others and decreased the amount of oil, also thickened the sauce with a couple of tablespoons of flour (added it after sauteeing the onions) We couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I was concerned about how non creamy it was and added a little parmesan cheese to thicken it up. Next time I plan to cut the olive oil and use heavy cream as the other reviews suggested. Still really good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This recipe was good and quite easy. I only used 1/2 tsp of pepper flakes and it was pretty spicy, next time I'll use 1/4 tsp. I also only used 2 tbls olive oil. I added 2 tablespoons of corn starch at the end to make it more like a gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
OMG! This has become a constant request in my house! I think my hubby thinks it’s my recipe but it’s not! The only changes I make sometimes are to add baby shrimp (if I have some) and or add some finely chopped mushrooms. Oh and I use heavy cream. This recipe is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieLouLu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Turlock, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States