Amazing Spicy Grilled Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Wow - these definitely are "Amazing Spicy Grilled Shrimp"!!! If you like things spicy these are for you - if you tend to shy away from a little heat don't bother. I used Frank's Red Hot as my hot sauce (no way I was going to use 2 Tbsp. of tabasco as others had - that's just over the top burn you mouth off in my opinion). You can also adjust the amount of hot sauce and chile paste if you like. I didn't change a thing and thought these were great! I squeezed a bit of fresh lemon juice on them when they came off the grill - a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Wow! Quite possibly the best shrimp I've ever made. Instead of hot sauce and chili paste, I just used some SriRaCha (Thai hot sauce). A little spicy for the kids but I tried to turn it down a little by adding more lemon juice. Also, instead of parsley, I used cilantro. Grilled on perforated grill sheet so the shrimp stayed a little saucy. Excellent! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I made these for the first time for a holiday party. I made 4 dozen. We had only 15 people show up for the party. Along with ham, turkey and all the other fixings, my shrimp was the only thing that was platter licked clean!! I think they even licked off the lettuce that I served the shrimp on! I changed the recipe a very little. did not have any Asian chili sauce on hand so I used Szechwan sauce instead. I placed everything in a plastic bag and put in the fridge for about 45minutes to an hour. I then placed them on the grill on foil till hot. (just took a couple of minutes) I served with 3 different dipping sauces from a hot one to a sweet one. I have never had so many people wanting the recipe and Hubby has been bugging me to make more and it has been only a week since the party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Wow, wow, wow!! This was good! We made these over the weekend for our son's b-day party. They were a major hit. I tripled the recipe and I followed the recipe pretty exactly except I reduced the lemon juice because I only had a lime and I used cilantro instead of parsley. It tasted great and not so spicey that the kids couldn't enjoy them too. I marinated them overnight...delicious! While my husband and I were putting them on kabobs, we actually put aside some for us and sauteed them in olive oil because they smelled so good. They were delicious!! My husband says this is the only way we'll make them going forward. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wharton, Texas, USA
Living In: Hockley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
OMGosh! Truly an amazing recipe! I couldn't find asian chile paste so I just omitted it. I also read to add the lemon for the last 30 minutes of the marination to keep the shrimp from getting tough. So I did that plus I followed the grilling time to the second and the shrimp were wonderfully tender and so so flavorful. I used Tabasco for my hot sauce and the amount of spice was perfect. Really really good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VillaViola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dardago, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This recipe is good, but as written it is very very spicy. I used tabasco as my hot sauce and after putting 1 tablespoon in I tasted it and it didn't seem that hot so I added the other. I wish I had only added the one. I like it spicey, but my kids only like it a little spicey. I also used sirachi (thai chili sauce) because I didn't have chinese. Other than that, I made the recipe as stated. I will try this again for sure, but not use as much tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This was a very great recipe and pleased my taste buds! I also added steak and cucumbers and doubled the marnade so I had shish kabobs! they tasted so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murphy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I marinated pre-cooked shrimp for a couple of days, threaded them on skewers and heated them through, 1 minute per side, on the George Foreman. We liked the heat and tasty combination of flavors. Served with take out fried rice and grilled yellow squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Excellent flavor! We like it hot, so for the hot sauce, I used 1 tablespoon of regular Tabasco and the 2nd tablespoon Habanero Tabasco. Absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I discovered this receipe last summer and I love it. Its my go to meal when I have friends over or when I need a quick meal. The sesame oil gives it a nice flavor. I try to let it marinade for at least 30 minutes. Cooked on th grill is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Work4Food

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

These easy shrimp have lots of flavor and a great little “kick.”

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States