Amazing Southwest Cilantro Lime Mango Grilled Chicken Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I haven't yet cooked this recipe. However when I went to Washington state on vacation they made something similar with fish in which they added mangoes and pineapple pieces. I can't wait to try the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uhiggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blanco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I love this recipe! This is my favorite of the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This was delicious. I don't think I've had a chicken sandwich this good at any restaurant I've ever been to. The reason I gave it four stars instead of five was because this recipe was terribly time consuming and it created a lot of dishes. I did use French bread like the recipe said, but I think it would have been better with sourdough. Either way, make sure you have large thick slices. I cut mine too thin and they fell apart when I was toasting the sandwiches. I also made it on a griddle instead of a grill. It didn't seem to effect the flavor at all. My husband is still praising me for making this. Finally, I think I should have cut up the mango and put it in the salsa instead of slicing it. It's really difficult to get several good slices off of a mango because of the size of the seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Well! I made this recipe as sort of challenge from friends from the Recipe Exchange (hi!) - we were all a bit intimidated by the ingredient/instruction list. This sandwich is delicious and COULD be really easy to make, but is a bit complicated as written. I will make this again, because the flavor is excellent, but I think I will make a chicken salad with most of the ingredients, skip the mayo and the cheese, and serve it cold on toasted french bread. Thanks for the recipe - great idea! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Yum, yum, yum!! Great blending of flavors, awesome southwestern style, can't go wrong with this sandwich! Pet peeve warning: Why, oh why do people rate recipes that they haven't tried yet? Why do they substitute ingredients and cooking methods and then complain that it isn't what they thought it should be? This is a wonderful recipe and should be acknowledged as such. Rant is done. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
for flavor, this recipe definitely gets five stars, but for the complicated and time consuming directions I'm only going to give it four. Just mix the mangoes in with the salsa and instead of grilling the entire sandwhich just grill the bread alongside everything else. This recipe is also really good with fish, especially ahi. I also added wasabi to the mayo ( I used veggie mayo) and it was really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dani girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanalei, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I wanted to try this when I first saw it, but then I got a bit carried away with my AR friends and realized it's a bit complicated! My approach to complicated recipes like these is to do things in stages, so I marinated the chicken and made the salsa yesterday. Then I grilled the chicken and cut the mango today. I didn't grill the veggies or make the mayo. I don't like mayo and while I like grilled veggies, I didn't think this sandwich needed it. After eating it, I really like it, although the salsa isn't the type of salsa that's my favorite. I also think it is very complicated and as SunnyB suggested it would be a good salad. I love the mango with the chicken. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
The name of the recipe does not lie. This sandwich is Amazing. Thanks for the recipe, I received many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Excellent. Sandwiches were a bit messy to eat but delicious! I used my own home made salsa. Thanks for sharing - it was a great combination of tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States