Amazing Southwest Cilantro Lime Mango Grilled Chicken Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Fantastic. I used tortilla wraps instead of bread. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This was delicious. Now, since it was a regular weekday and I did not want to spend so much time in the kitchen, I simply cut the chicken breasts into bite sized pieces and sauteed with the marinade/grilled ingredients, eyeballing how much of each and adding the cilantro last so it doesn't wilt. I placed large tortillas in the microwave with a slice of cheese and let that melt. I added the chicken, then the salsa on top and wrapped them up into a burrito. Would the chicken taste better marinated? I'm sure it would. I would happily do that for company but for a regular evening meal I think I will stick with the way I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Left out the jalapenos for the kids. The chicken marinade was pretty good. I bought lime juice instead of using fresh and that is where I goofed- the mayo mixture was way too tangy. I used thick Italian bread and sprayed the outsides with olive oil then grilled on the George Foreman after assembling all the ingredients. Loved the Panini type sandwich as a result of using the Foreman. Will likely make again but will just use the chicken marinade with cut up mango, store bought salsa and the veggies (they were actually pretty good on the sandwich. Anxious to try it as a salad also. Fresh Lime juice is a must in this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This was amazing! We didn't have french bread or mayo in the house so we used corn tortillas and put it in a taco vs. a sandwich and it was a huge hit. Perfect even without the mayo. As others said, we added the mango to the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Use tortillas, add mango to salsa. Marinate chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Marinade for the chicken was great! We don't use jalapenos often so was worried about the heat but it wasn't hot at all ... my mom & her husband even liked it. Served the chicken separately, with a little melted Monteray Jack on top and it was delicious. BUT when you put the salsa on top (we added mango directly to salsa) everyone loved it! Even my picky eater who at first didn't want to try the salsa ... teenagers - go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This sandwich is so good, it just sent me into a grilled sammy frenzy!! Unfortunately, I used the mangoes I had for something else, so I used mango chutney instead. But stuck to the recipe for everything else. I did marinate for like 4 hours, idk if that made a difference or not. And I used a really good sourdough instead. This sammy rocked! Way to go Patricia for using what's in the pantry and fridge for an awesome meal. It inspired me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
These were delicious and flavorful. Only downside was that they take forever to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I made a few modifications and loved the recipe. To start i left the bread and the mayo off. I marinaded the chicken breast and served it with the mango and salsa. I added mango to the salsa and swapped the chipotle for regular chile. I served the chicken with a thick slice of mango and the salsa piled on top. I grilled zuccini, red pepper, onion, and cherry tomatoes and crumbled some loose feta on top. It made for the most fantastic summer meal and it took less time then prepping the sandwiches. With all of the fresh veg it tasted great and is a healthier alternative to the cheese, bread, and mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
It took us forever, it seemed, to prepare everything for this meal! But, oh my! Was it alllll worth it!! It was incredible!! A few things we'll do differently next time: Either cut the French (long skinny) loaf into subs or try to find a thicker loaf. And the biggest change: we'll give ourselves much more time to prepare it in! But again, so worth it :) - - Also, the video posted was helpful! Worth watching!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelly Felly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States