Amazing Southwest Cilantro Lime Mango Grilled Chicken Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
for flavor, this recipe definitely gets five stars, but for the complicated and time consuming directions I'm only going to give it four. Just mix the mangoes in with the salsa and instead of grilling the entire sandwhich just grill the bread alongside everything else. This recipe is also really good with fish, especially ahi. I also added wasabi to the mayo ( I used veggie mayo) and it was really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dani girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanalei, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This is a lot of work, but worth it. My wife had serious doubts about it when I was working, but she loved it when we were done. I want to try it as a wrap or as a quesadilla with the mango on top maybe. Pretty messy to eat too. I will use the marinade for chicken often. I made it a second time as a filler during a rib cookoff and this time I made it as a quesadilla. It worked great and got rave reviews. Everyone liked it better than any of the ribs. The tortillas were a lot easier to work with than the french bread. The lime-mayo helped hold it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Well! I made this recipe as sort of challenge from friends from the Recipe Exchange (hi!) - we were all a bit intimidated by the ingredient/instruction list. This sandwich is delicious and COULD be really easy to make, but is a bit complicated as written. I will make this again, because the flavor is excellent, but I think I will make a chicken salad with most of the ingredients, skip the mayo and the cheese, and serve it cold on toasted french bread. Thanks for the recipe - great idea! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Yum, yum, yum!! Great blending of flavors, awesome southwestern style, can't go wrong with this sandwich! Pet peeve warning: Why, oh why do people rate recipes that they haven't tried yet? Why do they substitute ingredients and cooking methods and then complain that it isn't what they thought it should be? This is a wonderful recipe and should be acknowledged as such. Rant is done. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This was SO good. I am always wary of fruit/meat dishes, but I had some extra mangoes so I decided to try it. I agree with other reviews, put the mangoes in with the salsa. Instead of bread, I wrapped everything in a tortilla and put them on the grill so the cheese was melted and the tortillas were crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I wanted to try this when I first saw it, but then I got a bit carried away with my AR friends and realized it's a bit complicated! My approach to complicated recipes like these is to do things in stages, so I marinated the chicken and made the salsa yesterday. Then I grilled the chicken and cut the mango today. I didn't grill the veggies or make the mayo. I don't like mayo and while I like grilled veggies, I didn't think this sandwich needed it. After eating it, I really like it, although the salsa isn't the type of salsa that's my favorite. I also think it is very complicated and as SunnyB suggested it would be a good salad. I love the mango with the chicken. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I am the recipe submitter. I use a food processor and one of those chopping gadgets to do most of the complicated prep work and I prep all of the veggies at the same time. It goes quicker than you think with these tools. I usually bake the bread the day before. If I need to save time I buy the Dole mango strips in the jar from the produce section and buy the stores french loaves and already sliced cheese from the deli. Red pepper and onions are cut into strips like for fajitas and grilled in a veggi grill basket. They can also be broiled in the oven. The key is to get that caramelizing around the edges of the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This was delicious. I don't think I've had a chicken sandwich this good at any restaurant I've ever been to. The reason I gave it four stars instead of five was because this recipe was terribly time consuming and it created a lot of dishes. I did use French bread like the recipe said, but I think it would have been better with sourdough. Either way, make sure you have large thick slices. I cut mine too thin and they fell apart when I was toasting the sandwiches. I also made it on a griddle instead of a grill. It didn't seem to effect the flavor at all. My husband is still praising me for making this. Finally, I think I should have cut up the mango and put it in the salsa instead of slicing it. It's really difficult to get several good slices off of a mango because of the size of the seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
My girlfriend made this for the 2 of us on a Women's Weekend away. This is BY FAR the BEST sandwich I have ever had! All the flavors went very well together. There was definitely a party going on in my mouth! Thanks for a great recipe. I've already made it twice myself and I can't wait to make it for friends during my next card playing gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NightmareCook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Excellent chicken recipe! Quick and easy marinade. I didn't make the salsa or grill the vegetables. Instead, I used the chicken in a chicken sandwich with avacado. (mangoes were out of season and not quite ripe.) Also, with it being winter and all, broiled the chicken on "lo" on the middle rack of the oven for 11 minutes (turning once). The marinade is amazing and my husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States