Amazing Southwest Cilantro Lime Mango Grilled Chicken Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I made this for my boyfriend and I and the flavors are amazing! The first time I make a reciepe I usally do everything exactly as is but on this one I made a few adjustments. 1. Used tortillas instead of bread because I had them on hand and I’m glad I did. I think the juices would soak thru the bread and it would be very messy. I created more of a soft taco then a sandwich. I still used the spread….just put a thin layer on the tortilla and then added the chicken/veggies and then topped it off with the salsa 2. Did NOT use the outdoor grill. I cut the chicken into cubes and cooked it in a frying pan then added the veggies to that after the chicken was cooked, like a stir-fry. It worked out very well 3. This was my first time trying to cut a mango and it was a juicy mess. I decided to just add the few chunks of mango I was able to cut along with the not so pretty mush to the salsa and it turned out just fine. I will definably be making this again…next time I’m thinking about adding some pineapple as well. If you are not into super spicy food you may want to skip on the jalapeño or use a little less. I can’t get enough spiciness; my boyfriend on the other hand will start to “breathe fire” as he puts it. This was a little hot for him but he still scarfed it down and went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This is great....at least the marinade is! I used it to make chicken for some southwest chicken tacos and it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crashcourse3806

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Munising, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
The mango really makes it! This was a great mix of flavours. Only suggestion is to dice up the chicken and mango. Hopefully that will make it easier to eat as a sandwhich. I had to eat it open faced because there was so much to this sandwhich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This recipe is phenomenal. This is probably one of the most tasty dishes I have ever tried (or made for that matter!) I made this for my fiance and I and he could not believe how amazing it was. I used a lot more lime juice than what was required and I believe it made a huge difference. I left out the grilled vegetables because there was really no room on the sandwich. I was also leery of using mangos because I am usually not a fan of veggie/fruit combinations. But, the sandwich would not be the same without it. I recommend using tinfoil to line the grill because turning the sandwich over can get very messy. I let the salsa and chicken marinate for 24 hours. It won't take THAT long to make; it probably took me 1/2 hour to prepare the dish. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
My rating is strictly on the marinade... which was FANTASTIC! I can't wait to put the left over chicken in some quesadillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
delicious... almost too much of a sandwich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This recipe was a hit! My husband and in-laws, loved it! Esta receta fue todo un exito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Delicious! I skipped the jalapeno pepper and toasted the bread with the cheese on it. My family loved this recipe. Don't be afraid of the fact that others have said it takes a long time to make. Even with shortcuts, the variety of flavors in this sandwich will make it worth your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I made this last summer for my family they loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tipp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethany, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Excellent chicken recipe! Quick and easy marinade. I didn't make the salsa or grill the vegetables. Instead, I used the chicken in a chicken sandwich with avacado. (mangoes were out of season and not quite ripe.) Also, with it being winter and all, broiled the chicken on "lo" on the middle rack of the oven for 11 minutes (turning once). The marinade is amazing and my husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States