Amazing Southwest Cilantro Lime Mango Grilled Chicken Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
It was a bit of work, but worth it. We ate ours on whole wheat tortillas instead of bread. I now make a batch of the chicken and grilled veggies to put on my salads for the week. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This is the best chicken creation I've ever tasted. Two sandwiches filled me up. My only complaint is some of the instructions are presumptuous, in specific and assumes too much. Here are some fixes I would suggest: When you grill the chicken, set the heat to high/medium level. In the instructions, no level of heat was provided. I also suggest placing a metal flat pan on one half of the grill to cook the onions and red peppers. Finally add a little more olive oil and very little water to the marinade so it may adequately saturate the chicken (otherwise it's too thick and leafy to do so). I omitted the jalapeño peppers because I served this meal to my grandmother (she loved it by the way). Altered this way, the chicken has virtually no spiciness to it (which is good for my Grandmother), and the cilantro and lime really comes through. I suggest cutting the mango and putting it on the side (instead of cooking them with the sandwich creations), so people can eat it with their bites to adequately harmonize the flavors. Finally the preparation and execution of all the steps is way too much. Preparing this meal for the first time, it took me two hours. The payoff is arguably worth it, but I wouldn't suggest making this unless it's for a special occasion, or you have a cute date over. It is a delicious meal that won over the many skeptics of my prude little family. Thank you for allowing us the privilege of tasting this amazing meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vincent J. Marotta III

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Title says it all!! Chicken was Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasityk5592

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
It takes a litte while to prepare the recipe, but definitely worth it. The combination with lime and mango makes a unique flavor for this sandwiches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yesaire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is the most amazing, flavorful recipe! Everyone loved it and I have been ordered to make it for Christmas dinner. Make exactly as written and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Fabulous! I loved the mango but I think next time I'll try adding it to the salsa because the sandwich kept falling apart. This would also be good in a panini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This sounds really complicated but it's not. Instead of chipotle powder, I mince 1 chipotle pepper in adobe sauce and cut out the jalepeno so it's not too spicy. I grill the pepper and onion along with the chicken in a grill basket. I just add the mango right to the salsa mix. I also use fat free greek yogurt in place of mayo. Tastes great and less fattening. I usually get a jalepeno cheddar or salsa foccacia from the grocery store. I grill the bread for a few minutes then assemble the fixings. There really is no need to put back on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I cut up the mango into the salsa instead of keeping it separate so I'd get some in every bite. I recommend this recipe if only for the salsa alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I thought there was too much salt in marinade and salsa- will cut in half next time. I didn't have chipotle chile powder so i subbed ground ancho chili pepper (tasted great). I added some water to the marinade (1/4 c) to make it easier to distribute around the chicken in the bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This sandwich was amazing, but be careful with the onions and garlic. I used half of what the recipe called for and I still thought it was a little too much. But other than that, it was sooooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States