Amazing Southwest Cilantro Lime Mango Grilled Chicken Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
It took us forever, it seemed, to prepare everything for this meal! But, oh my! Was it alllll worth it!! It was incredible!! A few things we'll do differently next time: Either cut the French (long skinny) loaf into subs or try to find a thicker loaf. And the biggest change: we'll give ourselves much more time to prepare it in! But again, so worth it :) - - Also, the video posted was helpful! Worth watching!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelly Felly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I made this recipe for my 5 person family and it was a major hit! Even my 10 year old cousin loved it. Though this dish takes a lot of time and energy, it is worth it in the end. All of the flavors work wondrously together! I would have expected to find this on a restaurant menu. I had to slightly tweak the recipe, however, because we could not get a hold of any French bread. We made these into wraps using tortillas. Also, we do not have a working grill so we sauteed the vegetables and chicken on the stove. Even with this, it was delicious! I'm sure it is even better with the grill and bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debelizkemp

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I didn't think the flavors went together at all, and with the french bread the sandwich was too big to grill without it falling apart, let alone actually eat. will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This may be the best sandwich ever! It was a team effort prepping everything but once that's done it all comes together quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Made this delicious dish and loved it! Amazing! I left out the jalapenos so my 4 yr old could enjoy it too. He ate his whole sandwich! Definitely on the favorite list!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Very yummy. Four stars as it takes a fair amount of work, yet isn't fancy for company. I served to good friends and they liked it and didn't mind the messiness. O itted cheese as I didn't have it. Diced mango instead of slices and grilled bread, but not entire sandwich. Had all items on table, allowing guests to make own sandwich and choose how much of each ingredient to include or to eat separately. Next time I might sub a freshly made salsa or brand like Salsa Lisa from the store as the salsa in this recipe is fairly standard and add in the chipotle to get smokiness with less work. I might make this as a chicken salad, dicing up the chicken and grilled veg, to make it easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
not tasty enough for how much work they were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
It was a bit of work, but worth it. We ate ours on whole wheat tortillas instead of bread. I now make a batch of the chicken and grilled veggies to put on my salads for the week. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This is the best chicken creation I've ever tasted. Two sandwiches filled me up. My only complaint is some of the instructions are presumptuous, in specific and assumes too much. Here are some fixes I would suggest: When you grill the chicken, set the heat to high/medium level. In the instructions, no level of heat was provided. I also suggest placing a metal flat pan on one half of the grill to cook the onions and red peppers. Finally add a little more olive oil and very little water to the marinade so it may adequately saturate the chicken (otherwise it's too thick and leafy to do so). I omitted the jalapeño peppers because I served this meal to my grandmother (she loved it by the way). Altered this way, the chicken has virtually no spiciness to it (which is good for my Grandmother), and the cilantro and lime really comes through. I suggest cutting the mango and putting it on the side (instead of cooking them with the sandwich creations), so people can eat it with their bites to adequately harmonize the flavors. Finally the preparation and execution of all the steps is way too much. Preparing this meal for the first time, it took me two hours. The payoff is arguably worth it, but I wouldn't suggest making this unless it's for a special occasion, or you have a cute date over. It is a delicious meal that won over the many skeptics of my prude little family. Thank you for allowing us the privilege of tasting this amazing meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vincent J. Marotta III

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Title says it all!! Chicken was Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasityk5592

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States