Amazing Southwest Cilantro Lime Mango Grilled Chicken Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I made this one last night. I tweaked it some, instead of the salsa I made mango salsa and served whole chicken breast on cabbaba bread. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlynolen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Penn Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This recipe makes a really fantastic chicken sandwich! One caveat--it takes a long time prepare. My husband and I agree that the salsa, while very good, is unnecessary because of all the other flavors going on in this recipe. I marinated the chicken for about three hours and used lime juice instead of lime zest. We will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilBearinka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This was AWESOME!!! Honestly, I'm not a huge fan of mango, but it was just the perfect sweetness to offset the spices that the chicken was marinated in. It did take a while to make, but it was totally worth it! And actually, if I had thought ahead and done the marinade the night before, it probably would've been a snap. That's what I'll do next time (because I'll definitely be making this recipe again)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
These were absolutely amazing sandwiches! My family was amazed by them! The prep wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be. I will make them again deffinetly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
SO good! But yes, complicated. Honestly, I didn't marinate the chicken...I was too hungry. I ended up sauteeing the chicken tenderloins in all of the ingredients of the marinade (minus jalapenos, don't like too spicy) and that was really tasty. It was a cold October night, so I didn't grill any of it-all indoors. I skipped the grilled veggies because I am not a fan of red peppers and I felt the salsa had plenty of onion, IMO. The sandwich was still Amazing. I don't know how anyone could get all those ingredient on there! I had to use toothpicks as it was. Some changes I'll make next time- the lime didn't really change the flavor of the mayo and I made too much, so it wasted the mayo. Also, my husband suggested I cut the chicken into smaller/thinner pieces because it was really thick with every bite. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
One of the best sandwiches I've had in my life! Ok, it did demand some more time to make, but it's not as complicated as it may seem. Once we had marinated chicken, mixed the mayo with lime and put all ingredients for the salsa in the blender, we only had to saute (we didn't grill) the chicken and vegetables, and put everything together in fresh french baguettes. So, this recipe is not "fast food" when making, but neither is it in terms of quality - sooo much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Super delicious! Not sure I should even rate this as the only parts of the recipe I followed were the marinade and the lime mayo. I didn't make the grilled veggies or the salsa but it was still wonderful and I WILL make again. I marinated the chicken for about 6 hours and grilled on a Calphalon indoor grill. I served on buns with a slice of tomato and lettuce with the lime mayo. I served black bean salsa (recipe from this site)and a Rotel salsa and tortilla chips and it was a fabulous meal. I can't wait to have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Waynesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Delicious marinade! I didn't make sandwiches, so I can't rate the whole recipe, but I'm sure it would be delicious. I used marinade and made kabobs on the grill. Wonderful flavor! Will try the sandwiches another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeLee222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Lots of work but amazing flavor combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This is probably the best sandwich I have ever eaten. There are alot of steps, but you can prep the night before(marinate chicken, make the pico, and make the mayo-yum!) then you just have to assemble and grill at diiner time. I sauteed my chicken and veggies in a cast iron skillet and then grilled the sandwiches in the skillet with fantastic results. I can't wait to make theese for friends- good friends, they are very messy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States