Amazing Southwest Cilantro Lime Mango Grilled Chicken Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Delicious! This is so good! The salsa is amazing and the chicken is really good too. For me, the chicken/marinade could use a little less salt. However, I use much less salt than most people. We ate it without the bread. (Carbs LOL) It would be great over rice or over a bed of lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
As a sandwich-A lot of work for a pretty good sandwich, not amazing though. However if you take all of the ingredients and make a Quesadilla out of it, OMG, amazing! A ton of work for a Quesadilla, but worth every bite!!! I rate it 5 stars as a Quesadilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Wow! Awesome! So much flavor. I made it pretty much as is, although it's a pretty forgiving recipe. I put the mango in the salsa for convenience, but would have been great. This is extremely tasty, and would recommend it to anyone, even if you don't love mango and cilantro (I don't love them myself). The blend of flavors was just right and nothing stood out and shouted "I'm the star!" Was easier to grill the put-together sandwich than I expected. Can't wait to share this one with my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Rehoboth, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I didn't care for the mango in the sandwich, but the chicken and peppers with the cheese was awesome! Loved the marinade and will definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This is as it states AMAZING. I chopped up the mangos into the salsa.... the grilled veggies are a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
The name says it all - truely amazing - so worth the time. Prepping (marinating the chicken, making the salsa so the flavors can meld) the day before really helps with the many 'complaints' about the total time. Tried many of the suggestions: diced the mango and put it in the salsa, the different breads, just making it a salad - all were fabulous variations! This is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I made this for my boyfriend and I and the flavors are amazing! The first time I make a reciepe I usally do everything exactly as is but on this one I made a few adjustments. 1. Used tortillas instead of bread because I had them on hand and I’m glad I did. I think the juices would soak thru the bread and it would be very messy. I created more of a soft taco then a sandwich. I still used the spread….just put a thin layer on the tortilla and then added the chicken/veggies and then topped it off with the salsa 2. Did NOT use the outdoor grill. I cut the chicken into cubes and cooked it in a frying pan then added the veggies to that after the chicken was cooked, like a stir-fry. It worked out very well 3. This was my first time trying to cut a mango and it was a juicy mess. I decided to just add the few chunks of mango I was able to cut along with the not so pretty mush to the salsa and it turned out just fine. I will definably be making this again…next time I’m thinking about adding some pineapple as well. If you are not into super spicy food you may want to skip on the jalapeño or use a little less. I can’t get enough spiciness; my boyfriend on the other hand will start to “breathe fire” as he puts it. This was a little hot for him but he still scarfed it down and went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This is great....at least the marinade is! I used it to make chicken for some southwest chicken tacos and it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crashcourse3806

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Munising, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
The mango really makes it! This was a great mix of flavours. Only suggestion is to dice up the chicken and mango. Hopefully that will make it easier to eat as a sandwhich. I had to eat it open faced because there was so much to this sandwhich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This recipe is phenomenal. This is probably one of the most tasty dishes I have ever tried (or made for that matter!) I made this for my fiance and I and he could not believe how amazing it was. I used a lot more lime juice than what was required and I believe it made a huge difference. I left out the grilled vegetables because there was really no room on the sandwich. I was also leery of using mangos because I am usually not a fan of veggie/fruit combinations. But, the sandwich would not be the same without it. I recommend using tinfoil to line the grill because turning the sandwich over can get very messy. I let the salsa and chicken marinate for 24 hours. It won't take THAT long to make; it probably took me 1/2 hour to prepare the dish. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States