Amazing Southwest Cilantro Lime Mango Grilled Chicken Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Left out the jalapenos for the kids. The chicken marinade was pretty good. I bought lime juice instead of using fresh and that is where I goofed- the mayo mixture was way too tangy. I used thick Italian bread and sprayed the outsides with olive oil then grilled on the George Foreman after assembling all the ingredients. Loved the Panini type sandwich as a result of using the Foreman. Will likely make again but will just use the chicken marinade with cut up mango, store bought salsa and the veggies (they were actually pretty good on the sandwich. Anxious to try it as a salad also. Fresh Lime juice is a must in this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This was amazing! We didn't have french bread or mayo in the house so we used corn tortillas and put it in a taco vs. a sandwich and it was a huge hit. Perfect even without the mayo. As others said, we added the mango to the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Use tortillas, add mango to salsa. Marinate chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Marinade for the chicken was great! We don't use jalapenos often so was worried about the heat but it wasn't hot at all ... my mom & her husband even liked it. Served the chicken separately, with a little melted Monteray Jack on top and it was delicious. BUT when you put the salsa on top (we added mango directly to salsa) everyone loved it! Even my picky eater who at first didn't want to try the salsa ... teenagers - go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This sandwich is so good, it just sent me into a grilled sammy frenzy!! Unfortunately, I used the mangoes I had for something else, so I used mango chutney instead. But stuck to the recipe for everything else. I did marinate for like 4 hours, idk if that made a difference or not. And I used a really good sourdough instead. This sammy rocked! Way to go Patricia for using what's in the pantry and fridge for an awesome meal. It inspired me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
These were delicious and flavorful. Only downside was that they take forever to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I made a few modifications and loved the recipe. To start i left the bread and the mayo off. I marinaded the chicken breast and served it with the mango and salsa. I added mango to the salsa and swapped the chipotle for regular chile. I served the chicken with a thick slice of mango and the salsa piled on top. I grilled zuccini, red pepper, onion, and cherry tomatoes and crumbled some loose feta on top. It made for the most fantastic summer meal and it took less time then prepping the sandwiches. With all of the fresh veg it tasted great and is a healthier alternative to the cheese, bread, and mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
It took us forever, it seemed, to prepare everything for this meal! But, oh my! Was it alllll worth it!! It was incredible!! A few things we'll do differently next time: Either cut the French (long skinny) loaf into subs or try to find a thicker loaf. And the biggest change: we'll give ourselves much more time to prepare it in! But again, so worth it :) - - Also, the video posted was helpful! Worth watching!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelly Felly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I made this recipe for my 5 person family and it was a major hit! Even my 10 year old cousin loved it. Though this dish takes a lot of time and energy, it is worth it in the end. All of the flavors work wondrously together! I would have expected to find this on a restaurant menu. I had to slightly tweak the recipe, however, because we could not get a hold of any French bread. We made these into wraps using tortillas. Also, we do not have a working grill so we sauteed the vegetables and chicken on the stove. Even with this, it was delicious! I'm sure it is even better with the grill and bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debelizkemp

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I didn't think the flavors went together at all, and with the french bread the sandwich was too big to grill without it falling apart, let alone actually eat. will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States