Amazing Slow Cooker Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This was a big hit at my house. I took some advice from other reviews and coated the batter with flour before frying, as well as using an entire can of soup and the entire 6oz can of frozen concentrate. The chicken had a wonderful orange flavor all throughout, and although some of the batter ended up coming off in the slow cooker, what was left was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This was wonderful and and wasn't very difficult as long as you flour the chicken so the coating will stay better when you cook it. We all loved it and will have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
As I read through the reviews just before cooking this I thought uh-oh!! Almost evryone said they had a hard time with the "batter", I thought I will fix the problem before I have it! I follwed the recipe like it said but before frying the chicken, after dipping it in the batter, I dipped it in a basic flour mixture to coat over the batter!! this worked out very well! It browned nicely... and didn't stick at all!!! Mind you it has to be a good medium-hot lard you are frying it in!!and youare only browning the outside of the chicken not cooking it!! It cooks in the slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Taste-tastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
I thought this recipe was great, with the perfect amount of orange flavor. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
This is a great recipe!! Very yummy! Will definately do again! Also, very easy!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
I loved this recipe. I can come home from work and still have time to have it done in time for dinner. Great orange flavor, but not overpowering. Will make it again. Rock on !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
My family L-O-V-E-D this recipe! As I was reading other reviews....kept seeing that people had probs keeping the batter on....its really easy it you cook it slow and use crisco! Def will be making it again and again =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This is my favorite so far. I did it on the stove top and the flavor is amazing. It looks bland but it isn't. I added a can of carrots, pimentos and sliced bell pepper for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I was also concerned about the fat content, so I fried the chicken in cooking spray and used 98% fat free cream of mushroom soup (it's what I had in the cupboard.) I also didn't have frozen oj, so I used the juice of an orange, with some orange slices trown in. We really liked it, the chicken was tender and the sauce was flavorful. Not bad for the first time using my crockpot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States