Amazing Slow Cooker Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
As I read through the reviews just before cooking this I thought uh-oh!! Almost evryone said they had a hard time with the "batter", I thought I will fix the problem before I have it! I follwed the recipe like it said but before frying the chicken, after dipping it in the batter, I dipped it in a basic flour mixture to coat over the batter!! this worked out very well! It browned nicely... and didn't stick at all!!! Mind you it has to be a good medium-hot lard you are frying it in!!and youare only browning the outside of the chicken not cooking it!! It cooks in the slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
What a waste of a can of soup. The "batter" peeled off the chicken but stuck to the bottom of the pan, leaving the meat white and my pan black. In retrospect, I see no reason to use the soup at all, since a basic dredge of flour, salt and pepper will create a better fry-crust and won't stick to the pan. To add insult to injury, as I was scooping up the frozen concentrate for the sauce, I saw a recipe for the exact same orange glaze on the side of the can. Dang! So next time, save money, time, and dishes. Just fry your chicken as usual, scoop on the glaze in the same pan and have your dinner in 10 minutes instead of three hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This recipe is a 5-star with corn starch in the orange sauce (add 1 tsp to chicken broth before it is heated). We served with rice. Also I used a whole can of campbell's chicken broth with the entire small minute maid OJ container (6 oz?) and brown sugar to taste (several tablespoons). Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I'm only giving this recipe 4 stars because it was extremely fattening to start. I tweeked out most of the fat by omitting the shortening and using the 98 (I think)% fat free creamed soup by Cambells. I also cooked it alittle differently. I mixed the seasonings together, floured the chicken and threw it in a nonstick skillet with cooking spray to brown. For the sauce I used fat free chicken broth, sugar twin brown sugar and 2/3 cup orange juice concentrate. Threw everything in the crockpot for about 4 and a half hours and YUMM! Will definately make it again, and again and ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Really a nice dish. I skipped the browning and just threw everything in the crockpot because that is why I use it- so I don't have to do more than one step in preparing dinner! I left the lid off the last hour to thicken the sauce. Tasted delicious with potatoes (instant). I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
Not at all what I was expecting. But it was good. I did not use the condensed soup, or shortening. I browed the chicken coated the chicken with the flour mixture and browned it with vegitible oil. It worked wonderful. The chicken was moist and tender. Thicker pieces did not have the orange flavor in the middle, but the left over juice in the crock pot makes a wonderful dipping sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This was wonderful and and wasn't very difficult as long as you flour the chicken so the coating will stay better when you cook it. We all loved it and will have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
The same basic taste can be had quicker with less waste. Dredge 4 chicken breasts in seasoned flour , and fry up til done. Take 1.5 pint of heavy cream , a stick of thyme, and cook about 8 minutes for a sauce. Add 4 to 5 tbsps orange marmalade to sauce at the end, and stir til smooth-don't forget to remove the thyme stick . Season to taste. Spoon over chicken which is served on a bed of saffron rice. Same taste idea as original recipe though. Less time and less waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Like many other reviewers, I wish I had read the reviews before making this. The sauce didn't stick to the chicken and my pan was black. Next time I'm going to try coating the chicken with a thin coating of soup and then dip it in seasoned flour before I brown the chicken in the pan. The rest of the soup I'll put in crock pot. Loved the flavor but not the procedure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I really wish I had read the reviews and tips prior to cooking. The soup was a waste, it peeled right off in the pan. I almost used my deep fryer, it probably would have stayed on better if I had. I think I'll try to coat with an egg wash first, then basic flour mixture an then maybe use the soup mixture next time. Not to sure if I'll try this one again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States