Amazing Slow Cooker Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I followed another reviewers suggestion, and fried the chicken as I normally would, then added the orange glaze. Very good - but didn't use the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Like many other reviewers, I wish I had read the reviews before making this. The sauce didn't stick to the chicken and my pan was black. Next time I'm going to try coating the chicken with a thin coating of soup and then dip it in seasoned flour before I brown the chicken in the pan. The rest of the soup I'll put in crock pot. Loved the flavor but not the procedure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
It had a good taste but not what I was expecting. Adding the flour to the chicken soup as a coating wasn't what I was expecting. It was hard to coat the chicken with and it didn't brown up. thought it would be a more candied sauce. It was really good but I probably won't be in a hurry to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mill City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Agreed, that after all the hassle of having to continuously scrape the batter off to keep the pan clean enough to cook in - because it was NOT gonna' stick to the chicken, the final product was quite tasty, and my family did enjoy and compliment it. But i think i'll go with the review by 'KITTENWITHAWHIP' below next time - i wish i had read this before i made it... she has a great idea for tasty chicken without a hassel and the 3 hour wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Really enjoyed this - easy to make, tastes great and my wife now thinks I'm a chef. Add just a little heat (chili or hot sauce) to give it just a little more tang. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
It was okay. I can't remember being crazy about it but it's a moderate recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Jim doesn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
because my guest was late, I ended up cooking for about 3.5 hours on low. the chicken was VERY DRY, but tasty enough with lots of sauce served to each guest in a side bowl to dunk it in. served it with some pan fried zuchini in italian seasoning/olive oil, preceded by a carrot ginger soup. very good combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
What a waste of a can of soup. The "batter" peeled off the chicken but stuck to the bottom of the pan, leaving the meat white and my pan black. In retrospect, I see no reason to use the soup at all, since a basic dredge of flour, salt and pepper will create a better fry-crust and won't stick to the pan. To add insult to injury, as I was scooping up the frozen concentrate for the sauce, I saw a recipe for the exact same orange glaze on the side of the can. Dang! So next time, save money, time, and dishes. Just fry your chicken as usual, scoop on the glaze in the same pan and have your dinner in 10 minutes instead of three hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Chicken was very dry and the breading only stuck to the pan. Very good oarnge flavor though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States