Amazing Slow Cooker Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Dummy me, didn't read the reviews, first. The batter didn't stay on the chicken, but the sauce was pretty good. I'll make it, again, but will play around with it. To me, GOOD chicken is "Food of the Gods!!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ackman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
My family L-O-V-E-D this recipe! As I was reading other reviews....kept seeing that people had probs keeping the batter on....its really easy it you cook it slow and use crisco! Def will be making it again and again =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This was wonderful and and wasn't very difficult as long as you flour the chicken so the coating will stay better when you cook it. We all loved it and will have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
ended up tasting really good. next time will add flour/soup mixture to a bag and shake chicken and see if that makes it easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Really difficult recipe for the crock pot and it didn't taste all that good to me. The texture was all off. My husband said he liked it well enough, but I will not slow cook it again. If you just pan cook the chicken in the breading and make an orange sauce to serve over rice it would be better. I might try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This recipe is a 5-star with corn starch in the orange sauce (add 1 tsp to chicken broth before it is heated). We served with rice. Also I used a whole can of campbell's chicken broth with the entire small minute maid OJ container (6 oz?) and brown sugar to taste (several tablespoons). Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
Not at all what I was expecting. But it was good. I did not use the condensed soup, or shortening. I browed the chicken coated the chicken with the flour mixture and browned it with vegitible oil. It worked wonderful. The chicken was moist and tender. Thicker pieces did not have the orange flavor in the middle, but the left over juice in the crock pot makes a wonderful dipping sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
My son really loves this recipe. I took the advice of other reviewers and omitted the soup. We do an egg wash, turn it in flour and ccok on stove top. Saves time and tastes pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
As I read through the reviews just before cooking this I thought uh-oh!! Almost evryone said they had a hard time with the "batter", I thought I will fix the problem before I have it! I follwed the recipe like it said but before frying the chicken, after dipping it in the batter, I dipped it in a basic flour mixture to coat over the batter!! this worked out very well! It browned nicely... and didn't stick at all!!! Mind you it has to be a good medium-hot lard you are frying it in!!and youare only browning the outside of the chicken not cooking it!! It cooks in the slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
this was a good basic recipe. Definately like the sauce. Will probably play around with it to try and vary it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjlund

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States