Amazing Slow Cooker Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Ohhhh boy was this moist! Excellent texture- I did not have vegetable oil- having read Canola oil was healthier, I just bought that and I was a little concerned a few of the reviews indicated - not to use Canola oil. I was still determined to make this today so I went ahead and used the Canola oil and it was just fine!!! It was fun making a cake in the Crock Pot since I had never done that before and the house smelled amazing!I like the idea you can throw it together and leave the house to do errands while a dessert is slow cooking. I had some left over chocolate ganache we drizzled over the top and it was delicious. Any favorite topping would work as well as frosting. Because of the oval shape from the crock pot this would make a great base as a giant easter egg all decorated! And Easter is right around the corner! Loved this! I want to try a yellow cake the same way! Gotta eat this warm!!! Kind of the whole point...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Does not have a standard cake texture to it, however, this is moot point as it is delicious served with a scoop or two of vanilla ice cream with some rasberry and chocolate sauce drizzled on top. WARNING: DO NOT SKIP THE BOILING WATER AND ADD COLD WATER INSTEAD. I did this my second time making this as I was feeling lazy and figured what could go wrong and the cake ended up not cooking correctly. Instead of being completely even and done the outside was burnt and the inside was mush. Follow all the steps and measurements to the exact amounts in the correct order and you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I won't change a thing. This was perfect and we were really shocked at how well it came out for only taking 5 minutes of effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penni73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
My rating is because I couldnt get it to turn out at all. The sides overcooked and I had a puddle of cake batter in the middle. This could definitely be the cook and not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Was looking forward to this recipe but was disappointed. Needs more chocolate flavor and sweetener. Was not in love with the texture as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
how intersting and new :D I love it and I'll totally make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Turned out great. My wife who always insists on vanilla cake loved it and cannot stop eating it. After about an hour or so, I checked on it and noticed that one side seemd to be cooking faster, so I waited a bit longer and turned the removable porcelain pot 180 degrees. If your slow cooker cooks unevenly, this is a great solution. After 3 hours, it wasn't done yet, but seemed to be cooking very evenly. So, I ended up falling asleep and it ended up cooking in the pot for over 4 hours, maybe close to 5. I was worried that it would be over done, but the cake was so moist that I bet it could've stayed in for another 30 minutes and come out fine. Speaking of moist, I cooked with the lid on and a lot of condensation built up on the lid, usually falling back into the sides of the cake. Still turned out great. After it was done, I took the lid off, turned off the cooker and let it sit for 30 minutes. After that is when the sides of the cake seperated from the sides of the cooker and all I did was remove the porcelain insert and flip it upside down, easily dropping the cake onto a plate with a layer of powdered sugar on it, which coated the bottom nicely and kept it from sticking to the plate. Next time, I'm going to use coconut oil like a reviewer on here said and maybe even use coconut flakes and walnuts. It is great and will make it for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was very good but took ALOT longer to cook then it said
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This cake is fantastic! Added two cans of cherry pie filling to the bottom of the crock, then added batter. Cooked for 3 hours. It was perfect. Family loved it. Bring on some more slow cooker cakes please!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This was outstanding and so easy. I just mixed up the ingredients and followed the recipe. The family loved it and so did I. This is definitely a keeper! Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States