Amazing Slow Cooker Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
loved this cake so moist and yummy even 2 days after making~yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoofdog

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Followed directions and did not get good results. The crockpot burnt the sides of the cake after 2 1/2 hrs on low. The top still had wet spots, and the burnt smell of the sides spread the burnt flavor throughout the entire cake. Total flop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
The first time I made it, I cooked it an extra 20 minutes because the top still looked too moist, but I think the listed time was actually perfect for my crockpot. The top should actually still be a little moist to the touch, and very soft (it will firm as it cools); the regular "knife comes out (mostly) clean" test seems to work better than testing the surface for moistness. I replaced half of the sugar with Splenda to be more diabetic-friendly, and sprinkled the top with powdered sugar, which worked as more than a garnish because it really made it tastier. I've also tried it with olive oil and orange extract instead of vegetable oil and vanilla, but the original is better. I'll probably make it again, because it's pretty good for how easy it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I made this yesterday, managed NOT to lift the lid during the slightly over 3 hours I left it on. Probably could have turned it off right at 3 hours, but I was watching for it to pull away from the sides, which it finally did after I switched off the heat. Except for being slightly overdone (a little rubbery) around the edges, it was very moist and tasty. My husband & I enjoyed a big, warm chunk with ice cream on top. Very easy to put together. I think mine is a 4-quart crockpot; it made a pretty oval-shaped cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Whitney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
It's definitely the best chocolate cake recipe. Here in the mountains of Nepal we have also cooked it in a dutch over or covered stockpot on top of a stove or open fire. (The metal cake pan should be raised on a metal trivet or empty tin inside the stockpot.) have also made it many times in a dumpling steamer, making sure that the cake pan is well covered with foil or a metal plate, to avoid too much moisture ruining the top of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe! I used an all-purpose GLUTEN-FREE flour blend and 2 tsp XANTHUM GUM instead of wheat flour and it was AWESOME!!! There's a rich deep chocolate flavor and a moistness that makes you crave another piece. Absolutely delicious! I used a 5-qt crock pot/slow cooker and the batter filled the bottom third. By the last hour of cooking it rose to almost filling the pot. When I took it out of the pot it measured 3.5 inches. I will be making this again, guaranteed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saytay
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Made this in my 3.5 Qt. Crockpot - it was awesome!!! Used 1 cup sugar & 1 Cup Splenda to cut down on the sugar. Cooked as directed for 3.5 hours - then turned off for 1/2 hour. Served with frozen Cool Whip - next time I may use all Splenda & see how it works since my husband is a diabetic. Will definitely make it again and am going to share recipe with my friends!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicetyree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
It was easy to create yet took over 4 hours not 3 to cook and the flavor was off. Now to be fair, I did throw in chocolate chips for added chocolate flavor so that could be the reason but we just did not like this. The smell was unfavorable, the consistency was not what we expected and the flavor was weak. So hopefully it was because of the chocolate chips we put in it however I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Ohhhh boy was this moist! Excellent texture- I did not have vegetable oil- having read Canola oil was healthier, I just bought that and I was a little concerned a few of the reviews indicated - not to use Canola oil. I was still determined to make this today so I went ahead and used the Canola oil and it was just fine!!! It was fun making a cake in the Crock Pot since I had never done that before and the house smelled amazing!I like the idea you can throw it together and leave the house to do errands while a dessert is slow cooking. I had some left over chocolate ganache we drizzled over the top and it was delicious. Any favorite topping would work as well as frosting. Because of the oval shape from the crock pot this would make a great base as a giant easter egg all decorated! And Easter is right around the corner! Loved this! I want to try a yellow cake the same way! Gotta eat this warm!!! Kind of the whole point...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Does not have a standard cake texture to it, however, this is moot point as it is delicious served with a scoop or two of vanilla ice cream with some rasberry and chocolate sauce drizzled on top. WARNING: DO NOT SKIP THE BOILING WATER AND ADD COLD WATER INSTEAD. I did this my second time making this as I was feeling lazy and figured what could go wrong and the cake ended up not cooking correctly. Instead of being completely even and done the outside was burnt and the inside was mush. Follow all the steps and measurements to the exact amounts in the correct order and you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States