Amazing Slow Cooker Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Turned out great. My wife who always insists on vanilla cake loved it and cannot stop eating it. After about an hour or so, I checked on it and noticed that one side seemd to be cooking faster, so I waited a bit longer and turned the removable porcelain pot 180 degrees. If your slow cooker cooks unevenly, this is a great solution. After 3 hours, it wasn't done yet, but seemed to be cooking very evenly. So, I ended up falling asleep and it ended up cooking in the pot for over 4 hours, maybe close to 5. I was worried that it would be over done, but the cake was so moist that I bet it could've stayed in for another 30 minutes and come out fine. Speaking of moist, I cooked with the lid on and a lot of condensation built up on the lid, usually falling back into the sides of the cake. Still turned out great. After it was done, I took the lid off, turned off the cooker and let it sit for 30 minutes. After that is when the sides of the cake seperated from the sides of the cooker and all I did was remove the porcelain insert and flip it upside down, easily dropping the cake onto a plate with a layer of powdered sugar on it, which coated the bottom nicely and kept it from sticking to the plate. Next time, I'm going to use coconut oil like a reviewer on here said and maybe even use coconut flakes and walnuts. It is great and will make it for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was very good but took ALOT longer to cook then it said
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This cake is fantastic! Added two cans of cherry pie filling to the bottom of the crock, then added batter. Cooked for 3 hours. It was perfect. Family loved it. Bring on some more slow cooker cakes please!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This was outstanding and so easy. I just mixed up the ingredients and followed the recipe. The family loved it and so did I. This is definitely a keeper! Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I have a 6 quart slow cooker, so decided to try this cake. Husband does not like chocolate cake, but he liked this. Very Chocolately. However after 5 hours, lid never lifted, cake was still fudgey rather than cake like. Doubt I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clayton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This cake was AMAZING! Used coconut milk-as suggested in another review, applesauce instead of milk and special dark cocoa powder. Had the consistancy of a pudding cake when finished. Served with vanilla ice cream and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I made this with gluten free flour and a bit of Xanthum gum. This was absolutely fantastic and perfect with ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
cooked for ages still runny followed recipe exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I just made this recipe for the first time and was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews. I followed the directions, used a large, 6 qt. crock pot and cooked it with the lid on. It wasn't done after three hours and ended up cooking for 4 hours. I pulled the ceramic insert out, and turned the lid to vent the steam while it cooled for 30 minutes. The texture is hard to explain. It's very dense at the bottom, where it cooks the most, and creamy, almost like a mousse at the top. It's got a fantastic chocolate flavor. We had it with whipped cream on top, but I can't wait to try it with vanilla ice cream when I make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Weird and gross!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States