Amazing Slow Cooker Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This cake was absolutely fantastic & we are VERY VERY PICKY. I made it when there were NO reviews at all last week. I'm glad I did. In fact, it was soo good we made it a 2nd time 3 days later when the first cake ran out. I am a closet gourmet chef & only eat desert usually if I make it (don't waste time eating store bought sweets). I'm not a cake fanatic, but this one yum. This took 3 hours like it says & turn off & leave for 30 more minutes -- I made it exactly according to the recipe -- we serve it on a plate with a side of ice cream (butter pecan is good or mint chocolate chip) & drizzle chocolate sauce (just a smidge) on top of ice cream & cake & top w/ whipped cream (can is good for this). I've made this twice & plan to make it a 3rd time any day. Tastes like devil's food. Smells soo good cooking. Don't heat it up in the microwave fyi or you may dry it out. Leftovers stay well for a few days w/plastic wrap atop & left in crockpot w/lid on if you like unplugged of course. I'm not sure why people are saying rubbery, tasteless. because that's furthest from the truth for us. Maybe they used Canola oil - u Have to use a heavier oil - like vegetable oil. I used Crisco veg. oil) I have a large oval Rival pot. I am searching for great recipes for my crock pot cookbook as I've found a lot of crock pot recipes are awful. This one is a keeper. Just like the italian sandwiches on this site for the crock pot. yum I've passed this recipe off already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
919 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I made this before i read the reviews. I followed the recipe to the T. Did not change a thing and will not when i make it again. I did not change the time either. This is the best cake recipe i have ever had. I am just wowed how something so good came from a crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
430 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
The recipe does not say how large of a crockpot to use. Mine is 3 qts and it took longer than 3 hours. However, it was delicious. My husband who does not like cake had seconds. It was moist & rich. I used evaporated milk in lieu of regular milk because that is what I had on hand and I would not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
360 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Wonderfully moist cake. I made some changes to reduce overall calories. I used egg beaters, substituted 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce for the oil, used 1 cup Splenda and 1 cup granulated sugar, 1% Milk, and lite salt. I added 1/4 tsp Cayenne pepper for some heat, great with or without it. Original version 313 calories per serving. My version 164 calories and every bit as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
272 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skb52
Living In: Fowlerville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Love this cake, and I am not a chockoholic. I always pass on choc. cake. Husband loved it. He is a chockoholic, but has diabetes, so I had to change somethings. 1.Used Splenda instead of sugar. 2. Used Egg Beaters instead of eggs. 3. Used applesauce instead of oil. 4. Used coconut milk because it was in the fridge and needed to be used. It came out fantastic! Cooked for 3 hrs. left it in in covered cooker another 30 minutes. Then we had warm cake. Wow Hoo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I think that the person who said it was NOT moist, probably lifted the lid 3 or 4 times during cooking! Doing so, adds time to the cooking and also releases a lot on the 'moisture' from inside which is condusive to making this a 'moist' cake! All crock pots vary in degrees of heat and cooking times. This recipe needs 'baby sitting'! And this cake is suppose to be kind of 'jiggley' in the center! It can be compared to a 'Chocolate Lava Cake', only in a large format as opposed to individual ramekin servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
OMG.....awesome!!!! Thank you!!!! It will take 3 hours to make, per directions, if using a 5 - 6 quart slow cooker. Using a slow cooker smaller than that may require more cooking time as the cake will be thicker than if you use a larger slow cooker. I saw a lot of reviewers were upset because it didn't specify what size slow cooker to use and their cake took longer to bake than specified. I figured I would add this to my review in the hopes it will help people. Just keep checking it. As soon as you see the cake starting to pull away from the side of the slow cooker, it is done. Turn off the slow cooker and follow the rest of the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMJESS2588

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
We were amazed! This is one of the best chocolate cakes I've tried, and it can't get any easier. I used a 3 qt crock pot and cooked it for 3 1/2 hours. Not fully cooked in the center, but we love it that way. I also used vegetable oil, even though I faithfully use olive oil for all my other cooking. I read in one of the reviews that vegetable oil makes a better cake, and it sure didn't disappoint us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This is perfect. So easy and everyone loved it. Reminded me of the pudding cake. Very rich and moist. I dusted with powdered sugar for looks only because it is very sweet. Used half sugar and half "sugar free" to reduce amount of sugar grams. No one knew. Took approximately 3 1/2 hours to cook. Try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This cake was tasteless and not moist at all. I would not recommend following the mixing directions, however the amounts of ingredients seems to work well. I think it would be much better in the oven and with butter rather than vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States