Amazing Slow Cooker Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Fabulous! Followed recipe exactly, and my, was it delicious! A family winner & keeper, for certain. Took 3 hours in my 6 Qt crock pot; then turned it off & let it set 30 mins, per recipe. The cake was immensely moist, immensely tasty, wonderfully dense, and perfectly rich. Not too sweet, not too anything -- except for being too good! :o) I took one reviewer's suggestion to tautly lay a towel across the top of the crock pot & secure it with the lid. GREAT IDEA! Thank you for that helpful hint! Glad I did that. We found the edges got a little too cooked/tough [about 1/2 inch from edges inward; but one child liked that part], and I'm sure that's b/c my crock runs a little hot; it always does. So I will reduce the cook time next time -- and there WILL be a next time! -- by 15 minutes or so. I doubted this would be that good, and tried it just to have my 6 yr old have fun making a cake for the crock pot. I am so glad I tried it, and am so glad I was wrong. :o) Highly recommended! Just so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This cake is addicting, It's in the crock pot for the 3rd time this week. It's fluffy & moist, so delicious. Today I added 1 cup of crushed walnuts to make it a bit healthier & Im craving walnuts. Also used 3/4 wheat flour. Would have used apple sauce for veggi oil but none on hand. I am completely addicted to this cake, the recipe written as is & also the healthy version. I used 3/4 wheat flour the 2nd time I made this & I couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I thought it tasted like a cross between cake and brownie. I wasn't too fond of the flavor but my two kids loved it and my husband and in-laws did too. It took longer than 3 hours. It wasn't the rich choc. flavor I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I made this exactly as recipe specified and cooked for three hours. The edges were all burnt and inedible. However with that said once I cut the edges off by about 1/2 inch all the way around the cake seemed very moist. I smelled the cake burning before it was anywhere near done in the center….
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Not bad but I really wish I had known what size crock pot was used to begin with for the amount of ingredients. I used a 2 qt crock and it overflowed at 1.45 hours. I ended up making mini muffins out of the batter I scooped out of the pot, but what a mess! Once I removed half of the batter, mine cooked up in 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
My first review! :) Made recipe exactly as stated ( I don't agree with others who change and then rate ). This cake was incredible. Per the author incredibly moist, and so easy to put together. My daughter just had a piece with ice cream and said was the best cake she had ever had; moist like a brownie but light like a cake. Definitely will be making again and again. My only issue was how to get it out of the slow cooker in one piece, not that it matters but any hints would be appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Made this recipe tonight. Did not change anything. It was okay,but a little dry. I did NOT take the lid off until it had cooked for 3 hours,then sat for 30 min. as recommended by many other reviewers. So I am not sure why it is dry,although I did turn my slow cooker on to preheat while I was making the batter. Maybe that made a difference.I actually thought it would be too soft and moist as the batter was so thin! Has a good taste though,we put Reddi-Whip on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Burnt on the edges and soupy in the center. I may try this recipe in the oven but never in the crock pot again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paxton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Excellent moist and very chocolatey cake! We loved this. The only thing I changed was using coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Wonderful! I made it accordingto recipe. Will make it again. For the person that said it was stale need to check the date on your flour. Old flour will make make it stale and terrible results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States