Amazing Slow Cooker Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This is excellent! I had to sub corn oil for vegetable oil, and accidentally added extra hot water (about 1/8 cup). Also forgot the vanilla extract. Still, the cake came out delicious, rich and moist, with a texture somewhere in between custard and cake-the top half was custardy and bottom half more cakey. It does not taste undercooked at all, though it was still plenty wet on top near the center(I cooked for exactly 3 hours, then removed top after 30 min. like recipe says-it did pull away from sides). No need for frosting, but perfect with vanilla frozen yogurt. Can't wait to eat this straight from the refrigerator! I love the fact that the entire mixing process can be done quickly with a whisk instead of a mixer. I'll be sure to add extra hot water each time to get the same results. Thank you for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was easy to make and tasted great. I followed the recipe exactly and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Actually pretty good, but when it's all said and done, our family prefers a whaky cake made with whole wheat, raw sugar, extra water (preferably milk, but not necessary), and cooked until it is only almost done. That is actually a creamier cake than this one, and not much more trouble (though it has to be watched much more closely to be sure it is pulled from the oven in its 'creamy' state - that is the plus of this recipe, which doesn't require such close watching, and it did mix up quickly and easily. very nice flavor, just doesn't meet our expectations for an easy cake.......)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Good flavor, weird texture!! Might make this recipe again, but in the oven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
one of the best cakes i've ever had! i will be making it again for sure. moist and very flavorful and above all else, it had a true chocolate depth without being overwhelming. sometimes chocolate can be a punch in the face, but this is a well balanced cake that can be served to most age groups. you don't really need to add anything save a dusting of powdered sugar. perfection!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Very yummy. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I made this twice because I couldn't believe that it didn't taste good the first time, and it got such good reviews here. I followed the recipe exactly, each time. I really didn't like it when I first made it and I thought that maybe the eggs were old. So I threw out that batch, bought very fresh eggs and tried again. I still didn't like it. I have to say that I loved the consistency. It was moist and gooey and I love that. But the taste was so bland and not sweet at all. If I'm going to eat something that's bla tasting, I'll at least eat something healthy. Chocolate cake is supposed to be really tasty or else it's not worth the calories. No one in the family liked it. I hate wasting food but no one liked it. It's only redeeming quality was that it was nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This worked out perfectly. I reduced the sugar by a bit, but not much. I also replaced the vanilla extract with real ground vanilla. Other than that, I went exactly with the recipe, also for the cooking time. It was delicious with simple vanilla or stracciatella ice cream. It’s good warm, but also cooled down after a day or two. I made it in a large (6 quart?) slow cooker. Don’t use a small one, or chances are the cake won’t cook properly. It was still gooey in the centre, but not really undercooked, just deliciously soft and creamy – and only when served still warm. I will definitely be making this again, it’s very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaswa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I made this cake for a barbeque, and everyone liked it. It stayed moist for days, and I loved that I didn't have to turn my oven on during a hot summer day to have cake! Served it with homemade vanilla ice cream and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Amazing. So moist, so good. This will not disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisham9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States