Amazing Slow Cooker Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I thought the cake was just OK. I prefer it baked in the oven, Thought it tasted a little rubbery, I might have had it in the crock pot too long
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This cake was fantastic. It is so very moist, and the flavor is so wonderful it doesn't need frosting or ice cream. It takes my crock pot 4 hours instead of 3, but it's so easy to throw together and forget it till done. I made the recipe just as written and I have recommended this recipe to lots of people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I wish I had read the reviews before I tried the recipe. I used a 3 qt. cooker and the cake did not get done. I was so disappointed because it smelled so good while it was cooking I couldn't wait to try it. After reading the reviews, I will try a larger crock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This cake is fantastic and I'd serve it to company - which says a lot because I always serve company nothing but the best. This cake is moist & delectible - sort of a cross between a chocolate lava cake and devils food. Follow the directions - including "mix well" & use VEGETABLE oil(don't use canola oil- it won't cook properly). Don't lift the lid while cooking and make sure you let it rest with the lid OFF. Now here's the really amazing part - I used 1 1/2 cups Splenda & 1/2 cup sugar ... it was STILL great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I'm not really into cakes (more of a pie person), but when I found this recipe my husband surprised me by making it. I'm a convert, it is fantastic - so moist, so chocolatey, but not too sweet. He (me) decided it needed more time, and although it could have done with a little longer still, it almost had a thick, mousse texture on top (which firmed somewhat upon standing). Make sure to let it sit a little before cutting, as it will come out easier. We couldn't wait though and used a spoon, serving it with vanilla ice cream. For a couple who don't do dessert, it disappeared in no time. In fact, I'm making one this minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is not a fantastic chocolate cake. It wasn't sweet enough. It didn't have a lot of chocolate taste. It took longer than the 3 hours to get the middle to solidify. I'll stick to the oven way of baking a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
very good very chocolatey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This was a fun experiment. It wasn't amazing. However, we did like it with vanilla ice cream but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I was impressed with this and I've been cooking for 45 years. I did change the order of mixing. I mixed the entire cake and then whisked in the boiling water. This gives it that dense moistness that you get from Texas sheet cake it also heats up the batter to cut down on cook time. I always put a towel under the lid to absorb condensation. The last time I made it I topped it with a can of cherry pie filling, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Super rich.....must serve with ice cream. I might need to cook longer, since it was the consistency of bread pudding, which I don't prefer. Super easy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashippun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States