Amazing Simple Thai Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Good recipe. If you're worried about the peanut butter breaking up the tofu, do what I did-whip the peanut butter into some coconut milk! Worked like a charm and made the dish extra creamy. I used enough to make the peanut butter kind of warm frosting consistency, maybe a tad thinner. This plus jasmine rice equals heaven to reheat for lunch at work! Cue jealous coworkers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeadMansParty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
I found this recipe very simple and fast. I liked the fact that it used mostly ingredients I already had around. The prep time was minimal and the cooking time was brief. I cook at a student cooperative house full of 20 hungry college students, so I scaled the recipe to 10 times its published size and used a large wok with excellent results. I found that the finished product was somewhat bland, so I added a bit of extra ginger and a pinch of cayenne, which gave it some needed extra kick. I also found it to be a bit dull and colorless, so I added some grated carrots, which gave it needed crunch and color. With my modifications, my housemates gobbled it up and made me promise to make it again! I recommend serving with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I liked this recipe, but I thought the ginger flavor was too subtle, and consequently the dish was a little bland so I added a bit of Thai Chili Sauce and that really made all of the flavors 'pop'! Also, I agree with adding a bit of water before stirring in peanut butter. The water helped to deglaze the pan and prevented the tofu from breaking apart. I will make this one again with slight augmentations...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Dip the finished peanutty tofu into the "Sweet Chile Dipping Sauce" (from the Thai Grilled Chicken recipe on this site). WOW! great flavor!!! Like some of the other reviewers have noted, this recipe needs a bit of moisture added to be at it's prime. I simply added some water (about a half cup or so) to the tofu right before I stirred in the peanut butter. I'm getting so hungry just thinking about this dish... time to go make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Very, very good with just a few alterations. Added shredded zucchini to "bulk up" the mixture a bit. Also added extra green onion (you could easily double called for amount) as well as a few red pepper flakes. A delicious and quick recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This was extremely tasty, but more importantly, super easy! The rice took longer to cook than the main dish. I would have given it 5 stars, but it needed a few improvements. It seems like the meal would not be substantial enough on its own, so I added broccoli. Next time I might add peppers or snow peas as well. I also added garlic and more soy sauce. Next time I think I will increase the amount of coconut flakes. Overall, a cheap, healthy, scrumptious recipe that is ready in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Upon reading the reviews of this dish I took it upon myself to embelish as well. I decided to add some fresh cilantro and curry powder (but omitted the coconut flakes-- personal preference). The end result was very good; my whole family enjoyed it, despite being finicky eaters! Good job on a fantastic base, but I suspect it would be rather bland without some tinkering. Still, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scumbling1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Per other reviewers, I added Sriracha garlic chili sauce and added water to my peanut butter for extra sauce. Because of the extra water, I had to add extra peanut butter too. I don't like coconut flakes with rice, so I omitted that, but otherwise the ingredients I used remained the same. This tofu dish is way better the next day when it's had time to sit with all the chili/garlic/peanut butter. Next time I will add brocoli to the dish to make it more of a main meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Yum! We made this one tonight and I was pleased to find a fast and flavourful dinner, that is also quite healthy! The changes I made: - used peanut sauce instead of peanut butter - used garlic instead of green onions - added some green curry paste (about a tsp) Next time we will cook the tofu a little more before adding the sauces, as we like it quite crispy. We cooked it longer this time to crisp it up, but it dried up the sauce in the process! A great, simple recipe that I will be tailoring and using again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I'm giving this a 4 because it is pretty good and could easily be improved upon. I found the serving size (and thus the fat content) to be rather large. I would say this makes 4 servings. Next time I will definitely all more soy sauce and something to spice it up, probably red pepper flakes or maybe some thai chili paste. I found it to be bland, and I expected the taste of thai peanut sauce, which has a bit of kick to it. Also, I agree with the other reviewers about adding some water with the pb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States