Amazing Simple Thai Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
I tried this last night and it was fab - the fresh ginger gives it a really good bite. It looks like you've gone to a lot more effort than it actually takes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
This recipe is delicious! I love finding new ways to cook tofu and this flavor combination was a pleasant surprise. I served it over brown rice and it tasted very good. I did make the mistake of buying the ingredients without noticing that it only serves 2!! There are 6 of us but it still worked out because 3 of my children would not eat it (note to parents!). I plan on making this again, hopefully my kids will be a little braver next time! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
This is a nice, quick dinner however I had problems blending in the peanut butter - I had to add hot water to the skillet because it was initially one big lump, perhaps as it was a natural p.b.? I would also adjust the seasoning next time as we found this a bit bland for our taste. Good idea, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Needed more soy sauce and overall on the dry side. However, unless you deep fry tofu or make it with gravy, it might just be the nature of tofu (low fat). But I'd make it again because it's quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
I found this recipe very simple and fast. I liked the fact that it used mostly ingredients I already had around. The prep time was minimal and the cooking time was brief. I cook at a student cooperative house full of 20 hungry college students, so I scaled the recipe to 10 times its published size and used a large wok with excellent results. I found that the finished product was somewhat bland, so I added a bit of extra ginger and a pinch of cayenne, which gave it some needed extra kick. I also found it to be a bit dull and colorless, so I added some grated carrots, which gave it needed crunch and color. With my modifications, my housemates gobbled it up and made me promise to make it again! I recommend serving with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This was extremely tasty, but more importantly, super easy! The rice took longer to cook than the main dish. I would have given it 5 stars, but it needed a few improvements. It seems like the meal would not be substantial enough on its own, so I added broccoli. Next time I might add peppers or snow peas as well. I also added garlic and more soy sauce. Next time I think I will increase the amount of coconut flakes. Overall, a cheap, healthy, scrumptious recipe that is ready in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
This was good and it was very simple. My 5 year old didn't care for it, but my 2 year old loved it. I didn't have green onions, so I used reular onions and I also used shredded cocnut rather than flakes. This will make a good stand-by for those nights I need a quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Dip the finished peanutty tofu into the "Sweet Chile Dipping Sauce" (from the Thai Grilled Chicken recipe on this site). WOW! great flavor!!! Like some of the other reviewers have noted, this recipe needs a bit of moisture added to be at it's prime. I simply added some water (about a half cup or so) to the tofu right before I stirred in the peanut butter. I'm getting so hungry just thinking about this dish... time to go make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
Absolutely gorgeous! This came out the favourite of a six dish oriental feast I made tonight! I love the fact that the tofu is not fried before being added to the recipe so keeps the consistency of soft tofu. My vegetarian boyfriend said that it was one of the nicest meals he had eaten for ages! The only alterations were more fresh ginger & used spring onions as am not sure what 'green onions' are - US term I imagine. Thanks for the recipe. Will eat it again soon! x
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIKACLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Berkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Thatcham, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I'm giving this a 4 because it is pretty good and could easily be improved upon. I found the serving size (and thus the fat content) to be rather large. I would say this makes 4 servings. Next time I will definitely all more soy sauce and something to spice it up, probably red pepper flakes or maybe some thai chili paste. I found it to be bland, and I expected the taste of thai peanut sauce, which has a bit of kick to it. Also, I agree with the other reviewers about adding some water with the pb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States