Amazing Simple Thai Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Descolada
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I really like this dish. I've made it several times and I always end up adding a shredded carrot, a tsp of hot sauce, and topping with cilantro. To make the tofu texture more appealing to the rest of the family, I cube the tofu and put it in the dehydrator or in the oven on low for a couple hours or just until it starts to firm up and becomes slightly chewy. Then I let it sit overnight in the tsp of soy sauce before stir frying. Whisking the peanut butter with 1/8 cup hot water helps it smooth during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Descolada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
You might want to cut the tofu up into smaller pieces. Also found the peanut butter to be more sticky than saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjcmartin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Eh, it was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I just made this today for lunch. I didnt want to make a lot because I wasn't sure it will come out to be my liking. I cut up 24 cubes of tofu as this first trial. I was going to use coconut milk to add into the peanut butter but decided not to go through the hassle and added hot water instead. I stirred the mixture until all the peanut butter blend in and pour it into the pan together with the tofu. As for the tofu, I fried them first before adding the green onion because the green onion tend to cook faster than tofu. To add a little kick into this, I added a pinch of fresh minced red chili, and it made the whole dish tastes like Thai. Love it. I also added minced garlic due to personal preference. Once I transferred the tofu to another dish, I put refrigerated rice into the same pan and added a little soysauce and garlic and made fried rice to serve with this tofu dish. The dish turned out great and now I wish I made more than I started off with....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This was pretty good, but I felt that the tofu would have benefited greatly from marinating overnight in the soy sauce instead of sprinkling it on, as the inside of the tofu was still flavorless when cooked. Other than that, the coating is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
it was ok, i had to use red oniion instead of green, i can't see that making too much of a difference though. I would definitely add hot sauce to spice it up if i had a do over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Pretty good, I added sauteed broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, and onions and served it all over jasmine rice for a more complete meal. Also took the advice of others and thinned the peanut butter out with some coconut milk (fattening but delicious!) I also marinated the tofu for 30 mins before cooking using soy sauce, ginger, garlic, rice vinegar, and chili sauce. This recipe would be definitely be better with a kick, I had to add some more chili sauce at the end. I gave it 3 stars because I think it would probably have been pretty bland had if I hadn't added the additional ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Wonderful quick and easy recipe. Everyone in my family loves it, even ones who do not like Thai food. Add chili paste to add a little spice and it is fabulous. We also serve it over a brown rice medley which picks up each unique flavor individually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This is really good and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I just didn't enjoy it ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States