Amazing Simple Thai Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
This was ok... Not much to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Peanut butter does not dissolve/ melt while cooking. It probably needs to be whipped in soy sauce or oil before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
My girlfriend and I made this recipe and absolutely loved it! However, we made a couple alterations and will make a few more next time we make it. First, we partially dried out the tofu beforehand so it stayed firm and didn't break up. We took the advice of other reviewers and added coconut milk (1/2 - 3/4 cup) to the peanut butter, mixing that up before adding it to the wok. Depending on how creamy/saucy you want it, you could add even more coconut milk. We also added about 1/2 cup diced red pepper halfway through the saute time to give some crunch. Finally, we felt it definitely needed salt to taste. We served it with brown Jasmine rice, and the whole dish together was awesome! We decided next time we'd add more coconut milk for a creamier sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Tasty! ... and it was super easy to cook for a novice like me. Used the recipe as a guide. Peanut butter was a bit odd adding but once it gets heated it coats the tofu fairly easily.. I ended up using a lot more coconut to coat my tofu ... Terrific recipe! Definitely will cook again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gono

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Good recipe if you take the advice of several of the reviews here. I added 1/3 cup light coconut milk, 1/4 cup water, 2 cloves of garlic and TBSP of Sriracha chili sauce. Oh, and juice from 1/2 a lime. I also marinated the tofu in 1 Tbsp Bragg's aminos, Tbsp water, 2-3 tsp ginger and 2 pressed cloves of garlic w/ 1 tsp sesame oil (while at work) and then I broiled it in the oven for 15 minutes. I already had everything in stock and I don't mind the extra work so this was fine for us. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Quite good. Did add broccoli, water and some hot sauce, as recommended in other reviews, and served over brown rice for a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Not amazing. Way too many flavors here. Peanut, ginger, coconut, sesame? That is almost every thai flavor you can think of. The peanut butter was too much. I fried the tofu beforehand instead of putting it into the dish while it's still soft. The dish tasted better as leftovers heated in the microwave. After a day or two, the flavors all had a change to combine. I probably won't even make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I've been using this recipe for about a year now. Prior to that, I really didnt care for tofu. Now I love it! I've never added the coconut thoug--just because I never had any. I add everything else that the recipe calls for. Once it's cooked, I serve it over brown rice and top it with a scrambled egg, a healthy amount of fresh cilantro, and a dash of sesame seeds. Id really good with Srirachs (the red rooster sauce). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Marckwordt- Lowery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Very good flavor. I thinned the peanut butter out with about 1/4 cup of coconut milk, fried the tofu in sesame oil and vegetable oil because I like the crunch and because it holds up better in my opinion. I then removed the tofu from the pan and warmed the peanut butter mixture, added the ginger and soy sauce, and then added the tofu back in. It held its shape wonderfully. I did double the sauce to make sure I had enough to serve on rice... excellent and I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I don't think it had the taste of a thai tofu sauce. There was all to much peanut butter involved. I also found that I needed to add much more soy sauce and chilly flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States