Amazing Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
I'm in the deep south where bbq ribs are highly scrutinized. After cooking ribs this way, I wouldn't cook them any way else, and I've had ribs that were not cooked this way and they don't fall off the bone as easily, believe me it ain't a pretty sight. I skipped the grill because it's kaput right now, went straight after the boil to the oven and they turned out delicious & tender, finger-lickin good. I drank the beer instead and it made the recipe that much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
I opted not to boil the ribs, I think this takes away from the flavor. So I cooked them in the crock pot with other ing. on low for about two hour checking to make sure they did not start falling apart. I then drained grease from crockpot and let the ribs rest on paper towels for about 30 minutes while getting the grill ready. When the grill was hot we cooked them for about eight minutes, four minutes on each side and brushed them with BBQ sauce, I then added them back to crockpot with BBQ sauce and we used Miller beer. Make sure you use a good BBQ sauce like Jack Daniels, Famous Daves, etc. if you use the cheap brands like kraft etc. you will not get the full flavor of BBQ. These turned out finger lickin, fall of the bone, drop dead good. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
291 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
My husband is a BIG rib fan, however he is not big on change, (where as myself, the decorator, LOVES change). Well I always make these (actually the same recipe) using a coke, but being a beer lover, who am I to pass this up? I skipped the whole pre-cook thing & just stuck them in the crock pot (on low) for about 5 hours and they were so tender that I could pull the bone out without a problem. I used Bubba's Best BBQ Sauce (from this site) with this, and Tom loved them! Thanks Scotty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
Fantastic. I followed all three steps of the cooking process. After reading all of the reviews, it appeared to me that some were having a tough time BBQ'ing the ribs without burning them. I think that the reason is two-fold. First, and probably the main reason for this, was the use of far to much BBQ sauce. The ribs should only be lightly coated. Second, when cooking the ribs, you should not place them over the direct flame of the BBQ. High heat and high flame are two different things. For example, on a four burner gas BBQ, you can maintain 350 degrees by putting two burners on high and two on low. With this, you can cook your ribs over the low flame and get that fire taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by david4ania

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
Absolutley delicious & very tender! I skiped grilling them & I cooked them in a 325degree oven for 3 hrs. instead of a slow coker. The ribs were a huge hit with my whole family. My 2yr. old couldn't get enough of them! I will definitley make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
INCREDIBLE. my boyfriend said they were the best he's ever had! I used two bottles of bbq sauce (one sweet, one spicy) and added bourbon whiskey, worcestershire sauce, Franks Red Hot and cider vinegar to them. I also used porter beer - the flavor was rich and distinctive. these are fantastic and definitely better than any I've had in restaurants! Thank you SO MUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWLEVINSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
These ribs were fantastic. My husband never cared for my oven ribs because they always seemed fatty. The boiling takes away the fat and doesn't add alot of work. I also skipped the grilling part for ease, and put them in the oven as others have suggested (325 for 3 hours). They were browned and tender and simply the best ribs I think I've ever had. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
My son, who is a very picky eater, loved these ribs and called them "awesome" and ask me to make them often. I boiled them for only 15 minutes, LIGHTLY coated them with barbecue sauce and broiled them in my oven until lightly crispy. Cooked them in my crockpot on low for 4-5 hours. Since the crockpot makes just about anything tender and moist, do you think it's necessary to boil them first?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Great ribs, couldn't grill them, but put them in a covered pan at 325 for 3 hours. Made the best ribs I ever tasted, with or without the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
An absolutely WONDERFUL dish. I'd almost given up on making ribs, as they were always greasy and tough. Glad I tried "just one more..." I made it without the beer; just added a bit of water. Even my kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Scott's Amazing Whiskey Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Discover the secret to impossibly tender, fall-off-the-bone BBQ ribs.

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States