Amazing Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
OH MY!! These ribs are truly amazing. I did make a few modifications. First, I never boil ribs because that's just not done where I live in Texas. I found a rub recipe on this site, Mempis Rub, and let the ribs sit overnight with it on them. I then wrapped them in foil and cooked them in the oven real slow mainly 'cause I don't have a grill. I could not find any Porter but did find a Porter/Pilsner blend called "Missippi Mud" and used that. I used a combination of baby backs and regular spare ribs and I'm not exagerating there were only six pieces left. I plan to use this recipe again. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
For the first time in my life, my ribs were fabulous - this recipe is wonderful. I used the broiler instead of the grill (it's 24 degrees outside!) and I used some bock beer in the bbq sauce. The ribs were falling-of-the-bone tender and ooh soo delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I skipped the boiling step and went straight to the grill to brown the rib slab. The grill set at medium high does an amazing job browning evenly plus making those "grill marks." After about 3 minutes on each side I removed the slab then cut into 2 or 3 bone pieces depending on the serving size. Then I followed the rest of the directions for the sauce and cooking time. Towards the end I didn't move around any of the ribs (for fear of separating the meatfrom the bone) but spooned the sauce out of the bottom and drizzled over the top pieces. The beer does an amazing job keeping the meat moist and the sauce easy to drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
My ribs weren't "falling off the bone". I would cook it on low INSTEAD for twice as long or longer. With Ribs, the longer you cook them on a low heat, the more tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
There are certain things I cook in this house, and certain things my husband cooks. He confessed he was a little nervous when he saw the ribs out thawing. He and our daughter LOVED these ribs! I skipped the grilling part since the BBQ never starts for me and I put them in a roasting pan with Hickory BBQ sauce and a bit of Jack Daniel's. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Dundas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
It really is fall off the bone if you include the slow cooker part, which I highly reccommend! I followed it step by step and couldn't believe how amazing these ribs turned out! Don't put too much sauce on the ribs when you grill them or they may burn. Just a light coat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
A lot of work! but the ribs turned out great! Mine didn't fall off the bones, but they were tender and very flavorful. I used the Bourbon Whiskey Sauce and it was fab! Will make again, but not any time soon...Really a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
We didn't think these were anything special. Yes the meat was tender,had a good flavor..... but had the same taste as any pork roast or chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
These were good, but I prefer baking them in the oven, then grilling or broiling. I like the sauce to be thick and caramelized, and it gets too thin in the crock pot, but that's just my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
The only thing good I can say about these is they were tender but we did not like the taste at all. Will stick to our regular method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scott's Amazing Whiskey Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Discover the secret to impossibly tender, fall-off-the-bone BBQ ribs.

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States