Amazing Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Everyone in my family absolutely loved them! I would recommend slow cooking for the full 3 hrs just to have that superb tenderness. I also smothered more bbq sauce on them after & it gave them that extra saucy touch. The grilling is a great touch prior to slow cooking! Lastly, i used Asahi beer because i couldnt find any porter beer in local markets. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Tested this recipe out last night with one rack of ribs for our family because I'm planning on preparing ribs for Christmas dinner. After boiling and then searing in a pan on high heat (too cold outside for the grill!), I used the oven method instead of the crock pot because I wanted to try out the method I will inevitably have to use on Christmas day - far too many ribs will need to be cooked to put them in the crock pot! They did indeed fall off the bone, smelled delicious while cooking, and tasted great. I had to use a bottle of New Castle because I can't find the bottle of porter I bought earlier this week but I don't think it made a difference. I prepared Bubba's BBQ sauce (on this site) and used that with great success. I highly recommend this recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Recommended! Excellent, easy recipe! I've used this a couple of times; skipped the grill both times (because I didn't have time!). Nonetheless, excellent! Look, the big key here is the sauce you choose and how well it partners with the porter beer. Choose your sauce carefully. I've used Sweet Baby Ray's Original and also JohnBoy and Billy's Original Grillin' Sauce. Both good, but it all depends upon what your family likes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I have made this 4 or 5 times and each time I get rave reviews. I don't change a thing unless I had trouble finding porter beer. Then I used a dark beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
had to look this up for a friend as she loved my ribs made your way,so I thought I would review. I also used kevins homemade bourbon whiskey bbq sauce with this recipe also posted on all recipes, this is to die for. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I continue to be amazed with the disparity between the reviews and the end result of recipes on this site. I slow-baked the ribs, covered, in a low-temp oven, used country-style ribs (which should have made no difference in taste), Jack Daniels BBQ Sauce, Budweiser Beer and followed directions. Although I cannot find the right word to describe the taste, the ribs looked good but ended up not being eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snctygnd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
My husband and I absolutely love these ribs. I make my own bbq sauce (2 cups ketchup, 1/2 cup vinegar, 6 tbsp brown sugar, 6 tbsp Worchestershire sauce, 2 tsp liquid smoke and 1 tsp salt - simmer for 20 minutes) and add in only 2/3 of a bottle of beer. I love the simplicity of this once they're in the slow cooker. I do the precooking steps but in the winter my bbq is buried under piles of snow (I'm in Northern Canada). So I broil them in the oven for 4-5 minutes per side. Same effect. These are in my slow cooker right now - can't wait for dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Came out tender, moist, and fall off the bone. I also substituted broiling on high for the grilling part since we are out of propane right now. I used Famous Dave's sauce which was very tangy and had a good kick to it which is what I was going for. I think they will be great with our favorite sauce Sweet Baby Rays next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Didn't have enough time but they came out tasting great! I finished them in a pot on the stove because my slow cooker was a little too slow for our timeline. Used a Guiness can and bottle of sauce. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaileemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quadra Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrangell, Alaska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scott's Amazing Whiskey Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Discover the secret to impossibly tender, fall-off-the-bone BBQ ribs.

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States