Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
This recipe was fantastic! Everyone in my family loved it. I was a bit concerned because this was my very first time using a slow cooker, and the directions say "cook on low for 4 hours", whereas in my crockpot (Rival 6 qt oval time programmable) the 4 hour option is in the "high" temp. It wasn't a problem at all. 4 hours was the perfect amount of time for my 2.69 lb pork loin. I followed the instructions to the letter because the ingredients seemed perfect---and they were. For the wine, I used the wine I was drinking that night---a cabernet sauvignon. Also, halfway through the cooking time I did stab the pork a couple of times so that the sauce would seep in. I served this with some mashed potatoes (perfect side dish because there was plenty of sauce left over). I did thicken the sauce a bit after the pork was cooked and had been taken out of the slow cooker. I used 2 tbsp of cornstarch and enough water to dissolve it and remove any lumps. I poured this into the crockpot and stirred for a minute and let it sit in a high temp for 10 min. It was great---a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3811 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I wish I could give this 6 stars. My husband made obscene noises when he tasted it and my daughter who is sick and has no appetite even ate a large helping. Here is what I did - we are not big garlic people, so I made a dry rub of salt, pepper, onion powder and garlic powder and rubbed the tenderloin down. Then I seared it in a pan before putting it in the crockpot. The rest of the ingredients, I mixed them all in a bowl (used the liquid to deglaze the pan I seared in for the heck of it), and poured that over the pork. When it was done (cooked it for 6 hours on low), I poured the juices in a saucepan, brought them to a boil, and added flour and water to make gravy. Amazing is right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2517 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Good, simple recipe which turned out excellent with a few additions. My only major change was in replacing the dry onion soup with a fresh onion, cut in rings.To the cup of water, I added a tsp. of beef stock. My choice of wine was what I had... a Chianti. Other than that, it came down to adding a bit more flavor. I added rosemary, thyme, celery powder, a splash of worcestershire, granulated garlic and parsley. Cook time was right on, and the Tenderloin was "melt in your mouth." Strained the onion into the au jus to thicken the gravy slightly, (which was delish,) and served with mashed potatoes. Thanks for the post, LLAU.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
WOW! This is the best thing I've ever made in the crock pot! I almost always make a recipe exactly as it states the first time, and then make my modifications. After reading a couple of reviews that complained about it being bland, I decided that I was going to put slivers of garlic in the roast before cooking it. I LOVE garlic, and ended up using half a head (yeah, that's not a typo) throughout the roast. If you've never done it before, all you do is stab the roast and shove a clove or half a clove in the slit. This way the flavor permeates the meat. Anyway, I used LOW SODIUM soy sauce and everything else as stated. It was done and super tender after the four hours, but I cooked it on low for about another half hour then kept it on warm until my husband came home. I decided to add a little corn starch to thicken the juices, and man, was this roast incredible! I could cut the meat with my fork! Everyone should absolutely try this once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1077 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
My family loved this dish, even our picky eaters! The recipe calls for it to be cooked for 4 hours on LOW. Reviewers have reported out in a variety of ways on the setting issue. However, I can tell you that it was not done at that setting. I had to jack up the heat to HIGH and dinner was late. Next time, I will cook it for 4 hours on HIGH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
872 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
How foolish of me, an experienced cook, to even contemplate trying this recipe. What a way to ruin a beautiful (and expensive) pork tenderloin. Let's save crock potting for the less tender cuts of meat. Smelled heavenly but tasted oh so mediocre. Sorry for the bad review. Different strokes for different folks I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
826 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzitish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Egypt, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This was so easy and tasted so amazing! I did not brown the pork before adding it to the slow cooker, and I did stud it with fresh garlic (as recommended by another reviewer). I served it with mashed potatoes and broccoli, and was a delicious meal. Will be making this time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
One of our family faves. So easy to make, and so tasty, and the best part is it's in the slow cooker, so you can get out and enjoy the day! I see a lot of people are complaining that it is too salty, but I didn't think so, the trick may be to use a good red wine, not a cooking wine, as those are loaded with sodium!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
280 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I made this last night and it was truly AMAZING! Thank you LLAU! I skipped the soy sauce, as we don't like our food too salty, I used Merlot and it was quite nice, very tender, the pork fell right off our forks! My hunny loved it too, which is even better! Thanks again for sharing! *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This was just what I was looking for! So easy and delicious, it also makes your house smell wonderful. I did add 1 TBSP. Worcheshire sauce, used Shiraz for the wine and it came out delicious! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,938) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States