Amazing 'Pizza' Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, but cooked it in the oven and it was very tasty and moist. It came together easy and looked so pretty! Fresh herbs are the key! Thanks so much for sharing as this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This recipe is titled correctly. It is AMAZING! It is easy to prepare and it is delicious. I used shredded mozzarella because that is the type I had on hand. I prepared 10 pork chops. and served at a brunch, along with fresh fruit, fluffy scrambled eggs, homemade hash browns and toast. I did not explain to our guests what the dish was named other than it was a pork chop. It took less than 3 minutes for someone to say, "This is delicious - it tastes just like pizza. WOW" These chops could be served at any meal or for any occasion. I have added it to my future holiday menu for the Thanksgiving/Christmas holidays. Thank you so much for sharing. A definite keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful
Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
When reading the recipe, I thought wow, this should be really good! But I made a couple of modifications that proved to be the undoing of this meal. My thought was if I seared the pork chops directly on the grill first, before placing the other ingredients on top, they’d take on a nice grilled exterior and a smokier flavor. After searing the chops I transferred them to a foil tray. I layered on the tomatoes, basil, garlic and mozzarella and then put the pan back on the grill. However, by doing this, the flavors didn’t get a chance to marry. This likely wouldn’t have been the case had I followed the directions as written. As a result, my version was a disappointing two stars, whereas had I followed directions it would likely have been rated the four stars I originally expected it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Prepared for the Recipe Group this week. We really enjoyed these tender and juicy chops! Followed the recipe, only adding a little Grill Mates seasoning along with the salt and pepper. Hubby threw the chops on a screaming hot grill for just a minute to sear them before putting them in the pan and proceeding with the recipe. We love that you can taste each of fresh flavors from the tomatoes, basil, oregano and mozarella. Taste like Pizza....but also tastes like summer! This will be be a staple during grilling season. Thanks for sharing, CNM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This method makes a juicy and tender pork chop. The chops pretty much 'steam' in their own juices and those of the tomatoes. The flavor of the fresh herbs comes through nicely and the dish is reminiscent of pizza. I used provolone because that's what I had on hand. Be sure to season the chops liberally with salt and pepper! I served this with fettuccine in pesto sauce and a green salad. I made this for Recipe Group and it was a big hit with my family, thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I cooked these in the oven, not on the grill. I also increased the garlic a bit and I also seared the pork chops in a hot skillet before proceeding with the rest of the ingredients. I think these would be even better with a homemade marinara sauce, to maybe make them more "pizza" like. This would make a good hot sandwich filling, too, like on ciabatta bread or a good french bread. As is, we liked these. I served them with herbed pasta and a tossed green salad. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Outstanding! We absolutely LOVED these! I made 3 thick boneless chops & also 1 blsl chicken breast using this recipe/method but only leaving on the grill 20 min. Both were equally incredible! Our only complaint is....no leftovers:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I'm not a huge fan of cooking pork chops as I've made some pretty bad ones in the past. It's hard for me to get good flavor and not overdoing them. But this recipe was so easy and the pork turned out perfect. I didn't think that it tasted too pizza-y. It was more like a beautiful explosion of fresh flavor. It's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
FANTASTIC! I loved how easy this was to make. Put it on the grill and forget about it. 25 minutes was perfect for my grill. The combination of oregano and basil with the tomato and mozzarella really reminded me of pizza! I loved being able to use my home grown herbs. I only wish my Ramapo tomatoes were ready. (Next time) My only changes were to use shredded mozzarella and put the herbs on before the tomato. You have a winner in my book, Andy!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I just grilled these for breakfast and they are great! I used charcoal and hickory chunks and just grilled them directly on the grill, thanks for a great new way to do pork chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ & Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States