Amazing 'Pizza' Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
These were ok...I would not make again if just going by the recipe. I found them to be bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
It's "Amazing" that a recipe so simple is so fabulous! My entire family loves these chops. The fresh tomato slice on top with the herbs and cheese makes these chops so scrumptous. I live in a house with people who don't appreciate a fresh tomato. I have to sneak them in on them. Well there's never a complaint when they are sliced and placed on top of these chops. Also, a plus is the easy clean up with using the foil. Forever greatful CNM catering for such an easy and delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Sadly, we really disliked these. I spent a good amount of money on 4 beautiful pork chops and wanted a fantastic preparation. This recipe had rave reviews and sounded delicious. This was nothing like I imagined. The chops were moist but the delicate flavor of the pork was completely overpowered. I could have used chicken breasts and the flavor would have been the same and I would have saved 3$ a pound. The tomato slices needed s&p and the skins became unpleasant tough stringy loops. The freshness of the herbs was lost after 25 minutes of steaming. The method for adding the cheese seemed to be an afterthought. The cheese tasted as if it was not a part of the dish. It was barely warm and badly melted. I may try this idea again with marinated chicken breast, garlic and onion cooked in the olive oil, seasoned, peeled tomatos, a little anchovy paste, cheese and dried herbs added right away and fresh herbs added at the end. I think I would cook this uncovered as well to get some of that great grill flavor. Sorry, but we were very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I made this inside in the skillet and they still turned out fantastic! Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Don't put tomatoes and herbs on until chops are mostly cooked- makes the grilling a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sing1015

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Meh. Chops were dry; cheese was oddly tasteless and therefore not worth all the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oven Mitts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MoeLucky1
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I seasoned my pork medallions with steak seasoning; I didn't have a fresh tomato, so I used a can of "garlic & olive oil" diced tomatoes and covered the pork before baking in 350 oven. Afterwards, I covered with shredded mozzarella and garnished with fresh basil. We loved this and will make it again. I will adjust cooking time, as my pork was slightly dry. Easy and quick - can be made for company and will be sure to impress. I served with my own version of oven grilled vegetables. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoeLucky1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Carlos, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
These are AWESOME!!! I've made pork chops following this recipe, and also with variations to the recipe. Changing the cheese, changing the spices, adding finely diced peppers, etc...it is all just SO GOOD!!! :) Thanks for a recipe that is in regular rotation at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
It really does taste like summer. I made mine in the oven and they were very juicy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
When reading the recipe, I thought wow, this should be really good! But I made a couple of modifications that proved to be the undoing of this meal. My thought was if I seared the pork chops directly on the grill first, before placing the other ingredients on top, they’d take on a nice grilled exterior and a smokier flavor. After searing the chops I transferred them to a foil tray. I layered on the tomatoes, basil, garlic and mozzarella and then put the pan back on the grill. However, by doing this, the flavors didn’t get a chance to marry. This likely wouldn’t have been the case had I followed the directions as written. As a result, my version was a disappointing two stars, whereas had I followed directions it would likely have been rated the four stars I originally expected it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States